We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, kind friendly service, a bit slow on the mains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's Italian Kitchen

Francesca's Italian Kitchen
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. Good for families and groups. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week. RESERVATIONS BY TELEPHONE ONLY PLEASE. PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL FOR A RESERVATION.
Sammo50
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, kind friendly service, a bit slow on the mains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent meal. Really nice attentive, our entrees came right away and then it was a very long wait for our mains. Eat the homemade gnocchi, it is one of the best I have had. Also go for the homemade sausage. Yum! Great cocktails too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Sammo50, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry that you waited a long time for your mains. I will let you in on a little secret as to why they might have been a little slow. On the evening you dined with us, our Head Chef's wife went into labour and he had to leave a very busy restaurant right in the middle of service to get his wife to the hospital. We hope you understand that this might have caused a bit of an interruption to the kitchen's usually very efficient service. We do hope you come back to dine with us again soon. ( PS: They had a wee boy and Chef is one very proud Papa).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    97
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spot on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Classic and tasty Italian menu. The duck pappardelle was the standout. Excellent and friendly service all round. Reasonably priced wines. A must for any return visit we have to Wanaka. Thanks

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi John E, Thanks for your kind words. The duck is really popular and everyone seems to love it. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Cant miss this gem if you like Italian and are in wanaka . The menu is good and will not dissappoint with the friendly staff. Can be busy so do call and reserveinadvance

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review. You are so right - reservations are essential in the evenings. Thanks again for taking the time to say something about us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic food, resonably prices- perfect portion sizes, AMAZING wine selection. We sat outside next to the creek and it was just lovely. Liked the nice Italian waitress also, very charming and nice to have someone there actually from the same country as the food. Better Nokie than in Italy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Carol, Thank you for writing such a lovely review. Silvia is our lovely Italian waitress and her boyfriend, Nicholas - also from Italy - is our pizza chef. They are a lovely couple and it is a joy to have them with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian Fare with Francesca's flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

"Italian Fare with Francesca's flair" This was Brook Gardiner - an Otago restaurant critic's recent summary of her meal at Francesca's. Today was my third visit -- a business lunch but previously for relaxed evening meals with family and friends. It has been a great summer in Wanaka and although Autumn is here the outside dining tables, overlooking the landscaped creek are always occupied.The entire "kitchen" with its wood fired pizza oven is buzzing. The staff, successfully led by Francesca in her new venture, are happy, motivated and willing to please. The food is superb my meal a hot smoked salmon pizza with masses of fresh herbs, a green salad and a glass of deliciously chilled house wine. Sadly no time for one of the delicious puddings such as my favourite a Set lemon cream with limoncello stawberries but there is no question I'll be back to what is proving to be Wanaka's newest and most popular restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Hilary, Thanks for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you back soon for one of our delicious desserts. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesca's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.