We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snowfarm NZ

Snowfarm NZ
Cardrona RD2 | Waiorau, Wanaka, New Zealand
64 3 443 7542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 65 Activities in Wanaka
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Attraction details
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Enjoyed the fact that the trendy crowd were elsewhere. Facilities were somewhat basic but had everything you need to have fun. Costs were very cheap compared to other snow fields.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great new experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I had never experienced anything like this before so we were blown away with the scale of the place. Just opposite the road leading up to the ski fields. Off piste skiing, cross country all laid out for you to try, and no crowds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tubing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We took our 3 1/2 yr old tubing there and she had a ball! It's a 20 minute drive up the mountain from the main road, so be prepared for the drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Learn to crosscountry ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent two days at SnowFarm learning to crosscountry ski. Our first day we tried classic style, and our second day we tried skate ski style. I say "day", but really if you last 3 hours your first time skate-skiing you're good. It's exhausting and exhilarating, and a lot more fun than classic style. If you do last longer, SnowFarm has plenty of terrain for you to explore, and plenty of snow.

SnowFarm's service is excellent. Friendly and welcoming, SnowFarm feels like a family, where all the staff seem to know all the customers. We were taught by Pascal both days, who not only was a good teacher, he was also a great encourager, making us feel like we were doing superbly well, even when we were falling all over the place.
If you've never skied before it's advisable to stick with classic style for a while before trying skate ski style. But we were on a short holiday, so ain't got no time for that! If you're adventurous, a masochist, or a Canadian who has great overconfidence in all things winter-related, just go for it, you'll have fun.

Overall a great time, and the price for a lesson and day pass is less than a lift ticket at Cardrona.

*Be warned, the road up to SnowFarm is 10kms of muddy, sometimes icy switchbacks. We did it fine in a 2-wheel drive rental, but it is a bit daunting. That said, it's the same thing at the downhill ski fields, so get ready to brace yourself no matter where you go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun in the Snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently rediscovered cross country skiing at the Snowfarm and had a great day the staff are so helpful, equipment top of the line -the boots are so comfy. Its a great workout and you dont need to be an expert to enjoy it, if you can walk you can ski. I had a lesson and the instructor was so encouraging. Best to go on a good day weather wise as the views are spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowfarm NZ also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Snowfarm NZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snowfarm NZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.