We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverrun Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riverrun Lodge to your Saves list
Riverrun Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   86 Halliday Road, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Meg thanks for having us again this year - lovely, lovely lovely! This is the second time that we are staying at riverrun, the outdoor cedar hot tub over looking the snow capped mountains after a day of skiing was a real treat. We also used the lodges mountain bikes to ride on the local trail along the clutcha river to the outlet - scenery was fantastic! Looking forward to our next stay!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were lucky enough to have the lodge 'to ourselves' for 2 nights on our recent stay, we felt very special! The property is beautiful, has 2 big lounge areas with fireplaces and spectacular views over the valley. It is only about a 5 minute drive to Wanaka but really you don't ever need to leave as breakfast is amazing (and filling!), there are walks around the property and plenty of reading material if you just want to laze in front of the fire, and you can book to have dinner cooked by the wonderful chef Karen, with local produce, which we chose to do 2 nights out of our 3 night stay, and it was better than any restaurant!
Can't recommend this lodge enough. The host, Meg, is wonderful in making sure you have everything you need and helping with any local information or booking any tours you would like to do. In one word, go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Meg's superb hospitality and the high quality of the food have already been commented on multiple times by others, and we absolutely agree.

But we were also fascinated by the construction of this lodge - whilst it was purpose built by Meg and John, they used reclaimed timbers from across Australia and New Zealand to give it a lovely soft and lived-in feel. We particularly liked the fact that they've left old nails and the like in place, giving a real sense of history. And the metal bannister to Meg's quarters must be unique, made up as it is of old farm implements and machine parts.

If you're after a peaceful location with walking options plus roaring log fires, this is the place to be.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Riverrun Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Many thanks for the comments. Yes I agree the character of the reclaimed timber makes Riverrun. Icy cold here today but sunny - so off to go x-country skiing.

(Bequia Whispers looks lovely also). Meg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riverrun Lodge. It's a lovely small hotel with truly spectacular views. Meg is a very special and gracious host and we very much enjoyed meeting her along with other international guests. The food was excellent, especially the wine. Meg is very knowledgeable about the area and helped us with nearby activities. The lodge is certainly one of the nicest places we've ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverrunWanaka, Owner at Riverrun Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Jeffrey, many thanks for the lovely review. I appreciate it, and I'm glad you enjoyed the new tour of West Wanaka with Ridgeline. Very much hope to see you both again. Meg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Meg thank you so much for making our time at Riverrun so memorable. You are a truly gifted hostess. We felt that you went out of your way to make sure,that we were, at all times, taken care of and happy. Riverrun is a beautiful lodge and Wanaka is just gorgeous. The local walks we took around the property and the river were great. Gazing at the stars from the hot tub was wonderful. Again, Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Riverrun has everything a traveler could need. A beautiful, private location overlooking a valley with mountains surrounding it. A five minute drive into a town full of restaurants and shops. A friendly, gracious hostess in Meg the owner who unobtrusively takes care of all your details from restaurant reservations, hiking supplies, checking on weather for your scheduled activities. We could stay at Riverrun for an entire vacation as there is as much to do in the Lake Wanaka area as you could want from golf, horseback riding, plane tours to Milford Sound, shopping, fishing, the list goes on. Built with a grand scale and attention to detail, the lodge feels like a home that you are lucky enough to be invited to. The hot tub is just perfect for a clear night with stars in the sky.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Riverrun for a few days and loved it. It is on a hillside with gorgeous views to the mountains and within walking/cycling distance to a track along the Clutha River that takes you into Wanaka in one direction and out to Albert Town and Luggate in the other. Meg Taylor the owner/proprietor is a really lovely person and makes you feel right at home. The lodge is lovely - rustic and cozy with lots of recycled timber, stone fireplaces, comfortable sitting areas, and terrifically appointed rooms. As one of the other reviewers has said, "homey comfort and understated luxury" - that describes it perfectly. Meg is a wonderful hostess - each evening there are drinks and nibbles with the other guests in the main sitting area, and dinner if you choose to eat in - and why wouldn't you? Meg has a great chef who whips up wonderful dinners and breakfasts. The food was so good that we never bothered to eat anywhere else. What more can I say? Next time I manage a trip to Wanaka, I will be staying at Riverrun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverrun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverrun Lodge

Address: 86 Halliday Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riverrun Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverrun is a small luxury lodge, 5 mins drive from Wanaka, on a 500 acre farm bordering the Clutha river (New Zealand's largest river) and the Cardrona river. Guests can enjoy walks, running and bike trails on the property. The accommodation is luxurious, stylish, but un-stuffy. The lodge employs a chef and offers a gourmet 4 course dinner to guests Monday through Friday nights, but not at weekends. Evening appetisers are served nightly. Breakfast is delicious. Meg has lived in Wanaka for 18 years and done many of the local activities; hiking, mountain biking, skiing, climbing, kayaking, heli-hiking and heli-biking, cruises out to islands on the lake - not to mention wine-tasting. All the lodge rooms are ensuite, with magnificent views of the Southern Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverrun Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverrun Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.