We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Zealand Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Springs Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wanaka Springs Lodge to your Saves list
Wanaka Springs Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Warren Street | PO Box 25, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Townsend, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A New Zealand Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wanaka Springs Lodge, identified as a boutique hotel, is a B&B of the highest quality. We just spent 2 weeks in New Zealand, No. & So. islands, & Wanaka Springs Lodge is probably the finest accommodation we had. Unfortunately, we only spent one night there; could have easily stayed for 3 or 4. John & Glynis Seed, could not be more pleasant, accommodating or delightful to be with; you felt like a member of their family while you were there. Rooms were more than ample, there was a living room in which afternoon wine & cheese were provided & there was an exquisitely manicured yard available for use. The surrounding area was magnificent - Lake Wanaka is beautiful & Mt. Aspiring National Park is close by.
When you travel to NZ, your only mistake would be in NOT staying at the Wanaka Springs Lodge!

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just left and wish we hadn't had to, had 2 great nights here, wonderful location, great rooms and just the best hosts. Can't recommend Wanaka springs enough. We will most definitely stay here again when we make it back to NZ, though next time we'll stay longer!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I found a home away from home in Wanaka. I was hesitant to have just one bedroom for such a long time, but in reality you have much more space. There is a living room with five couches and fireplace, a kitchen with tables, fridge and necessities, a balcony attached to your room and a large backyard with lovely plants, a table and a hot tub. Breakfast was served hot to your liking(even if john cooked! Ha!) and each night there was a chance to meet everyone over wine, soda or beer and appetizers. This was a very nice time to talk to other travelers and learn about New Zealand from our hosts. We had a great time there and I can't recommend it highly enough! Six stars!

Room Tip: I liked the king bedroom... A bit bigger. But all looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

John and Glynis are great hosts. The evening drinks and canapés at 6pm are lovely to sit and have a chat with other guests and John is very generous with the drinks! They were having a tapas night on the day we arrived but we were looking forward to going into town to eat so didn't get involved with that.
Our room was stylish and comfortable with an outdoor sitting area in their beautifully maintained garden. Although it's in a residential are there are still mountain views all around.
I was disappointed not to have coffee/tea making facilities in our room as we always have a coffee in bed first thing in the morning but John didn't seem to mind me interrupting his breakfast preparations to go into the kitchen to make a pot! John makes a great breakfast, the bacon is to die for!
If you like walking then the Rob Roy Glacier Track is fabulous and not to be missed!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights in November. John and Glynis could not have been better hosts. So many ideas and suggestions of what to do, what to try, where to go. Loved the drinks party they held every night as it was interesting to meet their other guests and share experiences. Used their two bikes for a day's biking (felt more like hiking!) - which saved us $100 rental. Fabulous breakfasts - Glynis certainly knows how to cook. Thank you thank you thank you.
Mark and Jules

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect location, lovely home. Our hosts, John and Glynis were absolutely wonderful, going the extra mile when we needed to make an emergency call back to Australia. The meet and greet sundowner was a lovely way to meet the other guests staying, culminating in a fabulous dinner at a local Italian restaurant! We had missed making the trip down to Milford Sound whilst in Queenstown due to inclement weather, but John suggested we give it another try whilst in Wanaka, which gave us the best, most memorable experience of our whole trip to New Zealand - thanks for the recommendation, John!
Don't leave before breakfast either - it's the best in town!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights at the Wanaka Springs Lodge we really enjoyed our stay. The room was great and there was a free wifi service that was man enough to handle the skype and facetime calls we made. There is just a short walk to the local shops and restaurants and Glynis and John are full of useful information on things to do and places to see as well as making all the telephone calls to book tables and attractions. There are drinks and nibbles in the evening and this is great time to mix with the other guests and chat to John and Glynis. Great place to stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Springs Lodge

Address: 21 Warren Street | PO Box 25, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Springs Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Wanaka Springs Lodge for a real taste of New Zealand! Wanaka Springs Lodge celebrates New Zealand's culture and its quirks with its decor and food. This Qualmark rated Four Star Plus Wanaka accommodation combines the luxurious comfort and attentive service of a boutique hotel, with relaxed Kiwi charm and located just a 3 minute walk from Wanaka's town centre. Enjoy the warmest welcome, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation and your separate guest facilities at this purpose built boutique hotel. Discover the cosy lounge (with a real fire!), tea & coffee making facilities and large deck areas with outdoor furniture - to enjoy the mountain views and the natural springs which help form our beautiful and tranquil garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wanaka Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Springs Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.