We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning and would again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings

Save Saved
You added The Moorings to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moorings
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 2003, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Nambour
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Returning and would again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had stayed here about 7 years ago and have just returned and found new owners but the same great service. Some maintenance has obviously been done as it looked as lovely as before. The views are amazing especially in winter with snow capped mountains to see yet only a short walk to everything you need. It is fully self contained for those watching their budget.

Room Tip: Each time we have stayed on the top floor on the western end which gives you views in two directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Snowdreamers, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we have been able to provide a unit that meets your expectation. We are continually updating and it is great when returning guest notice the changes. We look forward to you staying again but hopefully it wont take 7 years for your return.

Nick & Karlene, Bev & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    59
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Second time staying here at this great accommodation , studio unit on the first floor .
The owners could not be more friendly or helpful if they tried , Units are clean , tidy have all the basic you will require .
The views from the balcony are as always, magnificent. Its an easy stroll over to the new Speight's hotel and the rest of town. From the unit car park to the top of Cardrona ski park was approx. 30 - 35 mins drive each day ( early risers 7.30am ) . There is also a separate drying room for all your ski gear next to the units car park. Recommend The Moorings for your holiday in Wanaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Nev T, As a returning guest it is always good to get a second opinion. Yes the view from the balconies is something special with an ever changing landscape. The new Speights Ale house is also added to our towns great eateries.
Thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to having you come and stay again in Wanaka.

Nick & Karlene, Bev & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

As a regular guest at the Moorings, I find it to be simply perfect and great value! The location couldnt be better with stunning views in all rooms, a one minute walk to the shops, bars and restaurants yet far enough away as to not hear any noise. Spotlessly clean and always lovely and warm. I love the beds! They are really comfortable with quality bedding. Managers Nick and Karlene and Ian and Bev can never do enough and I really cant fault this lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Bernadette, Thank you for your review. As a regular guest we pleased to see that we are able to keep on meeting your expectations and providing a comfortable location away from home. I will also pass you comments onto our housekeeping staff who take pride in keeping our units to a high standard. We enjoy hosting our guests and help them enjoy our wonderful location.

Nick & Karlene, Bev & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great time here. It was perfect for a easy ski accomodation which we needed with a young family. Being close to town meant we could easy walk to restaurants, shops, park etc.
The units had everything we needed and the hosts were very friendly and super helpful. Will stay here again and gladly recommend The Moorings to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Oliver, it was great to receive your review thank you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard to meet our guests expectations and it is always very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours. Thanks also for your recommendation of our motel and we look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards the Moorings Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice place to stay,Hosts were great.Excellent views of the lake.The studio unit was lovely and clean .Will stay there again when in Wanaka. No need to drive into town as very handy to all Restaurants.I do recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi Caroline, Thanks very much for your review and recommendation of our Motel. It was great to hear you you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our lovely town and we hope to see you next time you visit! Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulli, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a really great place to stay in Lake Wanaka. It was directly opposite the lake & close to restaurants & shops. No need to drive into town. The loft apartment was pretty cool & the kids loved sleeping upstairs with their own private bathroom. The staff were very friendly, helpful and interested. You couldn't ask for anymore. There is a ski drying room, mountain views, lake views, BBQ, outdoor seating. I would recommend The Moorings to travelling families. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Apartments and that you had a wonderful time in Wanaka. It would be our pleasure to host you again in the future. Many thanks, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have stayed twice at The Moorings - friendly service, clean, comfortable, attractive units and in the perfect position right across the road from the lake and just a couple of hundred metres to good restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear John and Alison, Thanks very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and Its very reassuring to hear that you will return again! Thanks so much and we look forward to hosting at a later stage. Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 2003, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a five minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.