We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka

Wanaka
Wanaka, Wanaka, New Zealand
03 443 1233
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Attractions in Wanaka
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wanaka is a gorgeous place on wanaka lake.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“beautiful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

They are doing a lot of construction around this place. with the beautiful lake and shops and all the touristy attractions around Wanaka, it has the potential to become the next Queenstown

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    89
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed, gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My favourite place in Central Otago to stay. Not overcrowded like Queenstown but just as beautiful, plenty of great accommodation and a huge variety of eating and drinking spots.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely town to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wanaka is used as a base for many skiers and boarders during the colder seasons. I stayed here during Summer and it's a perfect place to use as your base to prepare or recover from walks in the area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A lovely place for more active people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a fairly strenuous day the day before we decided to be less active and take the bus from Queenstown. A 9.15 departure got us in at about 11.45 so we had 5 hours to explore Wanaker (not cheap at $65 return each). A little look round the shops and restaurants in the centre was followed by a beer for me and a hot chocolate for her. After that we just had a walk around the lakeside and relaxed on a seat to eat our snack lunch and watch the world go round. That was very pleasant because of the beautiful scenery and the air quality but that was about it. We found more shops to browse in and had another beer before returning to the bus. There are plenty of activities for more active people so I do not want to sound too negative. The bus ride is quite fun with all the hairpin bends and, again, good scenery.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wanaka is a stunningly beautiful little town. If you're travelling around the South Island, make sure you stop here for at least a night, don't just blow through!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.