We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Wanaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka

Wanaka
Wanaka, Wanaka, New Zealand
03 443 1233
Improve this listing
Visit Wanaka like an insider
Private Tour
$2,854*
and up
Private Tour: 8-Day South Island Tour from...
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Wanaka
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wanaka is a gorgeous place on wanaka lake.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Adventure Wanaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

You never know if you are going to catch a fish or not, you never know if it's going to be a rainy day or a sunny day. This is why a good tour guide is so important, because they always know how to make people feel at home, make them happy. Dave himself is a tour, I will go just for him. I've traveled all over the world, someone as friendly as Dave is not easy to come by.

On the boat I also met a nice couple, they kept helping us fish, and gave us one of theirs. The only downside is I loss their email so I can't send them their pictures, so I will just post them here, hope they can one day find this.

Highly recommended! Wonderful town, wonderful people!

我去過許許多多的國家,遇過許許多多的人。許多導覽對於語言不通的亞洲旅客沒有耐性,也不友善。大衛是我見過最快樂與專業的導遊之一,也讓他本人成為我最難以忘懷的景點之一。船上的其他乘客也非常的友善,主動的抱我太太,教我們釣魚,把她們釣到的分給我。

非常好的人們,雖然我們釣了到魚,不過他們這些人本身比釣魚還要美好。非常推薦!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    107
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to Wanaka for a night - then heading to what we thought was the main attraction: Queenstown, but ended up coming back to Wanaka for another 3 nights as we loved this place!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Extended stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Supposed to stay 3 nights but stayed 5. Vibrant cafe/bar culture, outdoor shops, friendly people and plenty to do... if you want to. Smaller, quieter version of Queenstown, so I am told.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Green Toad bike Hire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We rented 3 bikes here from a tiny shop on Ardmore. In the back, off the walk. Excellent mtn bikes. With a spare tube, tools, a pump and 3 helmets, 75.00 nzd for the day. With maps. We chose the lake, river ride to the bridge and park. 4 hours. Be careful parking in the lot across from the shop. 2 hour limit, monitored. 12.00 surprise to pay tomorrow. Great little shop, rela nice mate that runs it. Wish he had green toad T shirts, woulda taken two. We will prob hire again at least once more. His rate is half the price of the other choice. Fine bikes, caliper brakes, nice seats, new helmets. Front suspension bikes are all I saw. Great, same as mine at home in Arizona.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed between Xmas and New Year and the atmosphere in town was excellent. It felt like everyone was having a good time without that underlying feeling of unease that sometimes comes with too much drink. Heaps to do in the area for all ages and the prices were generally reasonable. Felt like a Kiwi holiday town rather than a tourist trap like Queenstown.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.