We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort with lake and mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka

Wanaka
Wanaka, Wanaka, New Zealand
03 443 1233
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 attractions in Wanaka
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Bodies of Water
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wanaka is a gorgeous place on wanaka lake.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Resort with lake and mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was only here overnight, and it was raining sideways when we arrived, but got a lot of errands done (ATM, bike gear, postage, internet, souvenirs). By morning the weather had cleared and the lake was calm and serene, and the mountains in plain view.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    78
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing location, but expensive to eat out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Wanaka is a beautiful place on a beautiful lake with mountains rising seemingly straight out of the sea and surrounding you at every turn, it's truly a sight to behold. The town is reasonably small but there is quite a range of places to eat and shops to poke around in, in particular outdoor recreation clothing type stores, there's a nice, small gallery. There are some really lovely walks/hikes you can do around the area to suit different fitness levels - around the lake, up the mountains etc to take it all in. Feel like a lazy day, or something to do at night? See what's on at the cinema paradiso just behind New World, sometimes they have bands, otherwise they show movies. They have amazing home made icecream (the cinnamon and honey was great). The seating is rows of couches/sofas, very comfy.
The only downside to Wanaka is the price of eating out especially. It's hard to get a meal under $30. There are many restaurants to choose from but we'd spend around $80 for 2 of us each night, plus add on lunch and breakfast... We spent more on food than accommodation. Perhaps if we were to go back we would look to not have to eat out as much.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great mix of cafes and restaurants. Excellent shopping. All centred around the waterfront or close by

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had an awesome park for my 2 year old, spent a few hours there which was a refreshing break from all the mountain & water activities. Very family friendly and had everything we need ie supermarket etc. Sat by the lake for dinner and met some of the beautiful locals ... definatley would come back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrum Heads
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

To beautiful to believe. With the exception of the resort we stayed in, all staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Could quite happily live here!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wanaka to your Saves list