We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icing on the cake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Range Boutique Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Range Boutique Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Range Boutique Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Heritage Park, 71 Cardrona Valley Rd, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Icing on the cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

In February we spent a week in Melbourne and Sydney and then two glorious weeks in New Zealand where we picked up a car in Auckland driving as far south as Dunedin and ending our stay with three nights at the fantastic Mountain Range Lodge. We spent a lot of time on line planning our trip and this was the icing on the cake.....A big enticement was having the dinner coupon at the Lone Star for booking a third night where we had a delicious meal (and it is in walking distance). The accommodations at Mountain Range exceeded our expectations and we are still talking about "I wonder what Melanie is baking for our dessert tonight."
Stuart, Mel and Sandra were there for whatever our needs were and we so appreciate their kindness and hospitality. On our first trip in 2008 we stayed in Queenstown which was nice but too many tourists.....Wanaka is beautiful, only an hour from Queenstown and all activites are at your disposal. Stuart helped us plan a hike up to the Rob Roy Glacier and we had a great time. The lodge is immaculate and the decor is tastefully done with attention to detail....hopefully we can visit again in the future....Thanks for having a frist-class operation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Mountain Range was one of our favorite places we stayed at while on our New Zealand adventure. The lodge is in a beautiful location, tucked away from everything and all you hear are the sounds of sheep in the distance, but you are just minutes from "downtown" Wanaka. My husband and I spent two nights at Mountain Range and almost spent a third night. We enjoyed the tranquility of the lodge, relaxed outside in the hammocks and jacuzzi. We also enjoyed the company of Mel and Stuart, who ran the lodge and were wonderful hosts. The lodge is adorable and Mel did a wonderful job decorating...I walked around with Mel asking questions of where to buy most of the things she has displayed in the lodge to also include how she prepared breakfast. The lodge breakfast was one of the best meals we had in NZ.
My husband and I want to return to NZ and when we do, we will plan to stay at Mountain Range for a week. Thanks Mel and Stuart for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Danielle and Dan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Mountain Range is the kind of place that I almost don't want to review so we can keep it a secret. But in the interest of being a good member of the TA community, here we go -

It's a wonderful choice for Wanaka. The location is about a 10-15 minute walk (downhill - but an uphill on the way back) to town, along the Cardrona Road. They have a van and are happy to drive you into town (or to the ski resorts to or a mountain biking trail) and also pick you up again.

There are five or six rooms each named after a local mountain range. We stayed in Pisa, which was a great pick - beautifully decorated with a nice shower, doors to a patio outside with stunning views and free wireless. It's also at the end of the building so we only shared one wall with neighbors. More perks: a computer for guest use in the common room, a well-stocked collection of books and DVDs for use, a very comfortable common area with couches and a wonderful wooden hot tub outside for evening star gazing. We love that they are ecofriendly and into water conservation, recycling and composting. The Linden Leaves toiletries are luxurious (but only for use while there - although there is an option to purchase small or large bottles to take with).

The breakfasts alone are worth staying here. You start with a buffet of cereals, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee/tea and then have delicious cooked options - pancakes with bacon or fruit, eggs any way you want them (benedict was a favorite during our trip), etc.

Mel, Stuart and Sandra are excellent hosts - very eager to help and with lots of suggestions of things to do. They were always happy to make a reservation for us and were constantly offering to drop us off in town or anywhere else.

Wanaka is a gorgeous town and, since we're in our 40s and no longer part of the backpacker crowd, much nicer than Queenstown as a base in this area. With tons of hiking, mountain biking, wine tasting, skydiving and other options here, it's worth staying several days at least.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have nice views; Pisa shares only one wall with neighbors and so may be a little qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Excellent room, food and hosts. Spa in garden, with hammocks and deck chairs outside our room. Initially greeted by one of the most friendly people we have ever met - the lovely Sandra, who was enormous fun. The area was quiet and peaceful, but a short distance away from the main town with all the different eating places and trips etc. A fabulous place to stay, can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A bit of distance from the waterfront, but that also made it very quiet and peaceful. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Take advantage of the bikes and the ride along the river. Don't miss the jet boat at Shotover in Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The South Island of New Zealand does not suffer a shortage of good places to stay but on our recent holiday, which took us all round South Island, one place stood out head and shoulders above all others. Mountain Range is a fantastic place to stay. We loved the high spec of everything in the place - from the Apple computer to the luxurious linen to the smellies in the bathroom to the hot tub in the garden. I could go on.... On top of all that were the other nice touches - the daily homemade cake for afternoon tea (simply delicious), the beer and wine in the fridge etc. And yet, I haven't got onto the best bit yet. Stuart and Mel were simply terrific. Stuart's easy going manner, extensive local knowledge and "nothing is too much trouble" attitude (including lifts to and from the town centre in the evening) really set this place apart. And Mel's cooked breakfasts? Well, they were something else - there are many top restaurants serving expensive breakfasts to executives which could learn a thing or two. One possible downside about the place is the mile or so into town but this is more than compensated for by the warm welcome at Mountain Range and Stuart's willingness to drive guests into town. My wife and I really wish Stuart and Mel well in their enterprise. They really deserve to succeed in their little slice of heaven in beautiful Wanaka. We certainly hope to enjoy their hospitality again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in some wonderful places during our second visit to New Zealand and this was one of the very best. Melanie and Stuart are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome and 'at home'. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the accommodation is superb and the area around Wanaka is beautiful. We would not hesitate to stay at Mountain Lodge again and indeed look forward to that day and perhaps a round of golf with Stuart. Melanie is a superb cook and makes the most delicious lemon yoghurt cake! Denise and Geoff Tyler

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Range Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Range Boutique Lodge

Address: Heritage Park, 71 Cardrona Valley Rd, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Range Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Range is stunning lodge accommodation in Wanaka. An 8 bedroom, 7 bathroom holiday home perfect for a holiday with friends or family, ideal for bridal parties, weddings, groups, corporate getaways, ski clubs and more. Sleeping up to 17 guests, each bedroom is warmly decorated with NZ artwork, top quality linen, and hotel style amenities- flat screen TV/ DVD, ipod docks, heated tile floors, hairdryers, etc. Lodge facilities include a large modern kitchen, dining room, large lounge area with open fire, DVD/ board game and book library, drying room, office with computer and printer, free Wi-FI throughout, laundry and outdoor cedar hot tub. Mountain Range is the ultimate self contained holiday experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Range Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Range Boutique Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.