We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edgewater to your Saves list
Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Wanaka
india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Plz visit this place in lake wanaka...so there is nothing much to see in Wanaka, we went to this place for rest and this resort is worth the cost...the location is amazingly beautiful. just outside our cottage there was a lake...it was just out of the fairy world...i loved this place...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Hi charmie-sha,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and your surroundings! We admit, the lake is something to behold! Be sure to come back as soon as you can, we'd love to have you!

Kind regards,
Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    100
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
86
141
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The Edgewater Resort on the shores of a large lake is in a lovely setting. The hotel lower the rake rate immediately, as the season hadn't started. We had a lovely room with a view of the water. Good services offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were so pleased when we got here, they were very friendly at the desk our room was really nice great views as we were right on the lake, Very modern place first one we had got to with flat screen tv. the bed was very comfortable and the restaurant was very welcoming and the food was great. A range of activities from canoes to some great walks close to the ski fields we wish we had planned more nights here. It was a little out of town maybe a 20 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear ikec,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Edgewater on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you had a great time and you felt comfortable and well looked after! Also loved your comments on the restaurant and the food, we have just switched our menu to a lovely spring-infused theme, so glad you got to taste and enjoy!

We would love to have you come back! Remember us for next time you are in beautiful New Zealand.

Kind regards
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator
Edgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

What a great location. Just left here for the UK. I would recommend this place for all. Beautiful setting overlooking lake. Staff were attentive and noting was a problem. Love the kitchen and suite accommodation especially with children.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Dear Marcosplace,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Edgewater. I am so pleased to read your comments regarding our front of house staff, I will be sure to pass these comments on!

I hope you and your family can make the trip back to New Zealand in the near future as we'd love to have you stay again!

Kindest regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Fantastic hotel - location is peaceful and beautiful, just beside the lake. A gorgeous lakeside path leads to town, but we spent most of our time at the resort. We stayed in a two room apartment - plenty of room for a family of five, with a very large tv/kitchen room between the two. There is a very relaxed lounge/restaurant in the reception building for the children to visit in the evening, and a small playground/trampoline out front, The staff are truly welcoming and lovely - couldn't be better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Dear mewithkids,

Thank you for the wonderful review you recently left us! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your family had a relaxed time with plenty of space. This is exactly what we like to hear!

Your comments regarding our staff were also great to see, and I will be sure to pass on these kind words.

I hope you and your family will consider us again in the future, as we'd love to have you back!

Kindest regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Rooms outdated and tired but clean and warm! Excellent and professional friendly staff, food was great and the big open log fire was just the trick after a (freezing) days touring. Try the speights and then a few ports!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

From the point of check in, I had a good feel about this place. The lady at the check in counter was very friendly & helpful and so was the porter who helped with our bags. Upon entering the room, we were very impressed. A small little thing like preparing a cot for our toddler when we didn't ask for it went a long way for us. It just showed that the staff were meticulous enough to note we had a little one amongst us. The view of the Lake from our 2 bedroom apt were breathtaking and we had a great time in the garden where my toddler could roam freely and safely. The room was huge, spacious, clean & modern. This was a great stay and I wished I could have stayed more than 1 night here. It's quite a distance to walk to town but we drove, so distance was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.