We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater to your Saves list
Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

Very nice, clean comfortable resort style hotel. A little far away from the main street in Wanaka. That was the only dissapointment as every day we were there and wanted to go into town, we had to drive a few minutes. You could actually walk along the lakefront to reach the center of town. It would be about a 20 minute walk.

We stayed in a really big apartment style room. Very comfortable, with big glass doors that open right up to the grassy courtyard and flows down to the lake's edge.

A beautiful place. Only downside, slight distance from center of town.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    110
    36
    7
    8
See reviews for
93
159
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

What a fantastic find! I stayed there with my wife and daughter in Feb 07, in a lakefront one-bedroom suite. The patio doors opened onto a beautiful grass lawn leading directly to Lake Wanaka. The views were incredible. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff and manager of the bar restaurant. I asked her to recommend something long, cool, and non-alcoholic to drink; I don't know what it was that she came up with but it was gooood!

The accommodation couldn't be faulted, the location was breathtaking and the food excellent and reasonably-priced. Our only regret was that we could only stay for 1 night. We loved this hotel!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We had the pleasure of staying one night at Edgewater Resort. Pity we couldn't live here - excellent - more 5* than 3*. My mouth hit the floor when we opened the door to our apartment - first class. There was a small kitchen, living room, dining area, beautiful bedroom, a huge bathroom with 2 sinks, a double shower and double bath. There was also a washer/dryer in the bathroom. This was the most impressive place I stayed during our tour of NZ. We had a lake view and a balcony.

The dinner was out of this world - the presentation was brilliant and the desserts works of art. I chose the chocoholics delight and it was divine. The breakfast area was mad busy the following day but there was a good enough selection. I could not fault this resort and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Beautiful apartments
  • Disliked — Having to leave it.
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

Fantastic spacious room with wonderful view over lake. Beautifully decorated with tranquil colours and very chic furniture in the sitting room and dining area. Friendliest staff we have come across. Great fish & chips in the bar. Wanted to stay for longer and explore more of the facilities. Will definitely return.

  • Liked — Luxurious
  • Disliked — We only had one night
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

What a gem – really nice resort type hotel right on the shore of Lake Wanaka-great views. Rooms well furnished, ours had a lake view, king sized and single bed. Really nice looking restaurant & bar area. Internet computer available in reception. About 30 mins comfortable walk along the lakeside into the town of Wanaka. Continental breakfast @ $15 each. Cost was GB£89, good value, I thought.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

Cannot recommend this resort highly enough. We took a package which included full breakfast and three course a la carte dinner in the restaurant. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was very comfortable, with a beautiful corner window seat to enjoy the magnificent view of the lake. Ducks waddling up to our door was an added bonus! The food was excellent, the venue superb. We thought it was outstanding value for $NZ275 and wish we had booked more than just one night.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2005

My wife and I loved this resort. Excellent rooms with fantastic view of the lake and of the mountains. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. Absolutely pleased.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.