We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - and horrid breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edgewater to your Saves list
Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Wanaka
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced - and horrid breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We paid $280 a night and I had negotiated breakfast in. Well the breakfast was so bad we only had it the first morning. After that we stuck with our home made musel, fresh fruit etc in our room. It also put us off dining at the hotel so we cannot comment on that aspect.

Nice peaceful location although rooms very dark inside. Our shower room was a joke too.

All in all too expensive and not to be recommended.

PS (Very disappointed to be charged for WIFI after paying for such an expensive hotel)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 18, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your comments in regards to Edgewater, we do appreciate all customer feedback and after reading your review, I am happy to advise we have had a total revamp of our breakfast product and the presentation of such.

With our newly built ice well displays we offer a selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, sliced cheeses and continental meats along with a wide selection of pastries and breads in conjunction with the traditional breakfast fare of cereals, juices and hot produce one would expect. I have loaded two photos of our new breakfast buffet for your perusal which should be available for viewing shortly.

Kind regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
87
142
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

What a beautiful place to stay! We had a view of the lake and we could walk straight across the lawn to the water's edge. The gardens are well kept and it made a lovely evening walk, in one direction reaching vineyards, in the other direction (inn 20 minutes or so) the little town, with a good choice of restaurants, cafes, and outdoor clothing/equipment shops. We ate in the bar, and had some tasty food, served with a smile, although the vegetarian choice was very limited (and we were driven inside by insects in the end).
A good sized room with a lovely big and clean bathroom.
The rooms are arranged in little blocks, which means some are upstairs with no lift, so ask for a ground floor room near the reception area if that's a problem.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding, fabulous views of the Lake and the staff were excellent. Nice buffet breakfast too. Rooms are in total need of upgrading though, I was expecting it to be pretty flash but it was a bit 70's and dreary, with textured ceilings and old carpet. Other than this we had a great stay and would recommend getting a deal with them or if you are looking for something a bit flash then maybe going elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Loved it - central to ski fields, close enough to town but not too close. Brilliant large serviced apartments with beautiful view over Lake Wanaka. Would go back in a flash. Restaurant Degustation menu BRILLIANT

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very quaint hotel right next to the lake. Huge rooms with big comfy beds. Hotel was very tranquil but that meant a 20 minute walk into town, we highly recommend the Speights Ale House there, order the green lipped mussels and you won't be dissapointed. Very handy for Treble Cone ski area too.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was our second visit in twelve months. We chose the resort for one main reason - ideal location, right on the beautiful lake. On reflection, the resort is designed for an indulgent getaway with no eye for economy - example, the restaurant offered a 'one size fits all' dinner deal for three courses - over-priced and with no option of something less if you didn't want three courses. We were seven days into our ten-day trip and needed to do some laundry - the washing machine was not working! The rooms are otherwise well-appointed but be sure to negotiate the rack rate down - the 'full rate' is definitely not value compared with other similar establishments.
On the positive side, the Reception staff were very helpful and we certainly weren't disappointed with the magnificent location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Over-priced relative to similar accommodation
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

absolutely great hotel.terrific location.Great restaurant and most pleasant staff.wanaka is a real delight one of our most favorite places in nz.

  • Liked — great accomodations.lake location,pleasant walk along beach to town.Lovely restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.