We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade overdue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Save Saved
You added Edgewater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Wanaka
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Upgrade overdue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It appears that nothing has been spent on the property for sometime. The staff do work hard to make things nice, the main beds are good, clean towels, clean room etc. However i would like to point out a few things that do need to be addressed. For example the pull out beds in the living room, while sleeping on them you can feel the bar that crosses the middle of the bed and bow. Some of the beds are so bad I have had friends finding that sleeping on the floor is better than the bed (the main beds are good though) The internet is sooooo slow and cannot be used in your room at any reasonable speed. The internet kepts dropping off while in your room. You need to go to the reception area to be able to use it. The trampoline that was there when booked had gone and the area was filled with dirt. The spa pools are great if warm. Some days the pools were 36 but really should be up near 39-40deg (especial in the winter) the worst days one pool was 26deg and the other 36deg. If you want a warm pool you need to be there by 4pm the later in the day the pool cools down too much. The sauna was not working throughout the two weeks we were there. Also, rooms could do with something to hang your wet ski gear on to dry in your unit and not in the wardrobe where your dry clothes are. The rooms do have a lovely view and it is very relaxing stay while there

Room Tip: Some units car parks are not outside the door of the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Hamana2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such extensive feedback on Edgewater. On this occasion we clearly didn’t meet up to your expectations.

Unfortunately we did have a malfunction with the sauna during your stay and a replacement part was immediately ordered. It had to be imported and so regrettable there was a delay in having that fixed for our guests. It is now working.

With regards to the spa pool, for hygiene and health & safety requirements we empty the pool every second day. It does take 8 hours to re-heat and so it may be that the temperature had not quite heated up on the occasion you tried it. Whilst slightly inconvenient, for small periods of time, we treat this process as very important, especially at times of high use.

There are two very large walk in drying rooms at the hotel, specifically used as drying rooms for ski gear. Our reception team would have been very pleased to point their locations to you.

The trampoline has gone due to health and safety concerns.

A new internet system was installed in late 2013 and generally it has been working very well. Overall it is a challenge to get sufficient bandwidth into the hotel (given the surrounding mountains) at times of high usage, such as the winter holidays.

Edgewater is in the planning stages of improvements to our guest rooms. It will be a staged upgrade, which will take some time to roll-out. However guest comfort is the key factor in that upgrade.

In the meantime however we’ve invested heavily in the property. The new internet system (as mentioned above), the tennis courts were re-paved in the autumn and through the winter the Pavilion function area has been completely refurbished. Element Edgewater Day Spa opened late last year offering guests massage, beauty treatments and hair & makeup services.

We hope that in the future you again visit us at Edgewater, after we've completed our upgrade so you can enjoy the changes directly.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    97
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
83
141
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

While travelling down the west coast on the way to queenstown we decided to stay in Edgewater for 1 night, we got inking with road closures and ended up not arriving until 11.30pm where the night porter met us and brought us to our room. We paid a little extra for a suite and it was well worth it. As we arrived at night, we had no idea what the view was like so it was amazing to wake up to the view over Lake Wanaka. This has to be the most beautiful little town in New Zealand. As we arrived late, the hotel staff allowed us to have late checkout so we got the use of our room and the views. Would definitely recommend, the staff we're so friendly.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Amie F

Sounds like you made a good decision to have a night in Wanaka, given the uncertainty regarding the weather related road closures at the Haast Pass.

We appreciate your kind words about our team and so pleased you got to enjoy Edgewater's amazing lakefront location in the morning.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thanks Edgewater, we booked two nights in a self contained unit. We had such a peaceful time and loved the views and facilities we stayed an extra night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hoping we'll be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Yolande

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and we're so pleased you decided to spend an extra night to enjoy the peace just a little longer.

Fingers crossed you'll make it back. We look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Booked mystery deal through wotif and was so impressed. Booking in was so easy & as we were having a break from the camper van appreciated the spacious & warmth of the room. Fabulous view too. Would definitely visit again. Although slightly out of centre of Wanaka was well worth the quietness & views.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear VeeNZed

Great news that you enjoyed your stay with us at Edgewater after booking your mystery deal.

We're pleased we added some welcomed relief from your camper-van trip.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of our favourite places in nz. The one bedroom luxury self contained apartment was brilliant. Excellent quality, spacious, our own small but private outside space. The views were stunning and the walk into the centre a must(leisurely 30mins). The grounds are really spacious and surrounded in areas for recreation.
The staff were great, food excellent and access to booking various activities around the area available on site.

Room Tip: On the far side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Catharine G

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at Edgewater.

We're pleased you enjoyed our apartment accommodation and it sounds like you enjoyed the lakefront stroll into the centre of Wanaka too.

We appreciate your kind words about the team at Edgewater also.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were staying in the timeshare section of the resort so I can't comment on the rooms however the staff were fantastic. From the moment we arrived they made our stay great. We had our 9 month d with us and the staff were so friendly to him.

We were there during their quiet period so during dinner one of the waitresses played with our bub while we finished our meal which was really lovely. Just an example of thinking about how to help their guests have a lovely holiday.

Also need to make a special mention for George, the concierge, he was so lovely and accommodating. Full of local information and helped us so much on several occasions. He helped make our trip even better.

The location of the resort is beautiful. wanaka is a stunning place and really recommend a visit especially for families.

Thanks again Edgewater for making our first family holiday so great

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Aussie Traveller

We appreciate you taking the time to write such an extensive review, especially being so busy with a young baby!

We're delighted George and our team looked after you and your family so well.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a one bedroom apartment. Big, spacious and absolutely clean.
Stunning view, overlooking the lake. A family of Paradise ducks was swimming quietly in it. Short drive to city centre. Nice to walk around the lake.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and amenities so much.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.