We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater to your Saves list
Edgewater
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent five nights here and would recommend it to others. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a great relaxing stay by the lake. I'd recommend getting one of the apartments if you have children for some extra space. There's a lovely cafe on the lake which is great for a coffee or a beer in the sun

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Kia Ora Laurie Anne

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Edgewater.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and it is great you enjoyed the Wineglass cafe, with its fabulous view.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    131
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
108
187
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at this wonderfully appointed hotel. The property fronts directly onto the Lake with wonderful grounds and park benches to take in. You would probably want a car if heading into town, however it is only a 20min walk along the lake front.

For the cycling enthusiasts, the mountain bikes which were included in our rate (and also offered for hire) were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on Edgewater.

Sounds like you had one of our special packages, with mountain bike hire included. There are some great trails around Edgewater and throughout Wanaka.

We welcome you back to continue your exploration.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and this was one of the best places we stayed in NZ.

Initially planned for 2 nights but then extended it.

The service was very good including check in,the restaurant and cafe.

Rooms were clean. Plenty of room including kitchen.

Beautiful view over lawn and Lake Wanaka. Very restful. Enjoyed friendly service in cafe while having a beer and looking at lake and mountains.

Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We got a lakeside room and it was a beautiful view of Lake Wanaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora Richard

We love to hear when our guests extend their stay. So pleased we could help provide such a nice time for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here, clean, roomy with a lounge, kitchenette with mod cons. Our unit is on the ground floor facing the lake. With the well manicured lawn just right outside our doorstep, our little boys get to step out and run on the lawn, with very picturesque view of the mountain and the Wanaka lake. Even though it was a short drive to the shops it was still very convenient.
Overall a very relaxing place for people who want to spend quiet quality time with family. IMHO a much better place to destress compared to the very busy Queenstown. Queenstown is still beautiful and action packed but Wanaka is really the place to rest and relax.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor units you can just walk right out along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora

We are pleased you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at Edgewater.

You are correct, the environment is very relaxing and tranquil.

Thank you once again.

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very nice room, comfy bed, gorgeous setting. Nice walking path along the Lake Wanaka. The town of Wanaka is a short distance away. Dinner was very good. Enjoyable stop on our trip through the South Island.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora

Pleased you had such a nice time at Edgewater during your recent South Island travels.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

PROS
LOCATION
If you pay for the lake front units you will be absolute lakefront with an expansive lawn between your unit and the lake.
There is a path along the lake and you have an easy walk into town (appox 2 1/2 k's).

STAFF - fabulous young folk with a great attitude who provide excellent service.

ACCOMMODATION
-We had 103 which was lake front. The views were stunning.
The bed was dressed in the style where the linens were washed every cleaning, i.e.,the quilt was covered by sheets. I always prefer this over blankets because you just don’t know the last time they were washed.
-Our one bedroom plus living room with kitchenette was spacious with comfortable albeit sparse stock standard furnishings.
-Bathrobe
-Very quiet sleep except for "see below"
CONS
ACCOMMODATION
-The rooms were tired and in need of an update.
No side tables or coffee table upon which to place glasses in lounge area.
The only outside seating (we were on the ground level - the resort is two levels high) were two small wooden benches. Perhaps lounge chairs are not provided due to esthetic considerations but I would have loved to have been able to loll outside my room in comfort.
There was no art in the rooms. For what is charged I expected more.
A suggestion, commission a local photographer and frame a few pix. Truly, there was nothing on the walls of 103.

Thin walls and ceilings compounded by creaky floor boards made for noisy neighbours. We could hear toilets flushing in middle of the night and early morning showers.

Dirty carpets- we showered in the morning and wore socks and sneakers all day. When we got back to our unit we bared our feet and within a half hour our feet were filthy. This is just not acceptable.

Lousy internet – they use a company called Surfspot which was painfully slow.

We paid $280 per night in shoulder season which I believe is the cheapest time to stay here. I hope this establishment ups their game. I am a Kiwi, not a one time customer, and I would love to return once they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora Su Su

Wow what an extensive and thorough review, both positives and negatives.

With regards to your negatives. The rooms aspects are noted and we are looking at refurbishment plans at present.

The internet is a tricky one. We went free with wi-fi just before Christmas and I can assure you there was significant technical demands behind improving our internet at that time. The beauty of where Edgewater is located (amongst amazing mountains) also proves challenging to get strong, consistent signals. Sometimes too it can be the demands of what is going on in Wanaka and around Edgewater at any given time.

We're sorry to hear of your experience re the carpet. As we've just come through a hot dry summer, with low lake levels we have noticed an increase of dust around the hotel.

Some of the other areas you noted are structural unfortunately.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on 20th March. Nice location, about a 25min walk around the lake into town, overlooking the tranquil duck pond. We found it very peaceful and relaxing, nice to sit in the
cafe and enjoy the view. Although the rooms are a little dated, everything was very clean, neat and tidy, the kitchen had everything we needed. We would go back and stay again and the price we felt was good value for money. We didn't mind being out of town a little as we enjoyed the walk around the lake. We would stay on the ground floor next time to allow direct access to the lovely grounds.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end right near the stairs leading down to the ground floor, it was a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Kia ora,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

As you've pointed out, Edgewater is set within a tranquil environment and we're pleased you enjoyed strolling around the lakefront.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.