We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old smelt like a chip shop!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel Wanaka

Bayview Motel Wanaka
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Motel Wanaka
Save
You added Bayview Motel Wanaka to your Saves list
263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old smelt like a chip shop!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Old smelt like a chip shop were shown 3 different units all the same looks totally different on the Internet and they are using Campervan rating for the motel! So bad we found alternative accommodation for the night rather than stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayviewwanaka, Manager at Bayview Motel Wanaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We'd like to clarify that we most certainly do not advertise our motel under our campervan parks rating. We only advertise ratings awarded to the motel; our website, brochures and Qualmark certificate show this to be true. Also our photos are very accurate as the were only taken this summer. The original unit did have a cooking smell present and we apologise for this. Myself and a co-worker could not smell cooking odours at all in the other 2 rooms. We now have a deodorising machine to help us eliminate unpleasant odours in any units.
Management
Bayview Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Unfortunately we only got to stay 1 night. The owner is amazing, meticulous and concientious. Free shuttle to town and back, free showers, free spas, free 24 hour Internet and beautiful sites. Easily the nicest place we've stayed in over 4 weeks of travel on both islands.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed there 2 nights - on 31st Dec and 1st of Jan - paying 180$ per night plus 50$ bank holiday surcharge. We traveled in 3 - we got a huge lodge - able to accommodate 7 if not 8 people - there were 3 bedrooms, 2 toilets, 1 bathroom with shower, huge parlour with terrace and views overlooking the mountains, big well equipped kitchen and dining room. We found this to be our best accommodation during our 3 week visit in NZ. We enjoyed our stay in Wanaka and we would have liked to extend our stay in Bayview Motel when we come to NZ next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Excellent value for 2 bedroom, self contained accommodation on the edge of Wanaka. Unit was a bit old but very comfortable and warm and cosy with a fireplace. Staff were great - very helpful and friendly. An added treat was the fire being set ready to light every evening when we returned from the snow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Excellent value for money and the fastest free wi-fi in our whole holiday. Lots of extras including meal vouchers for the local Mexican restaurant. Staff were friendly and the outlook from our 1 bedroom unit was spectacular. Our unit appeared to have been recently refurbished which added to the comfort. Heating was sufficient with additional portable heaters stored in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

we stayed here 3 nights over Christmas and there was everything we wanted - quite quiet, space inside and outside, TV with DVDs to borrow, spa, and best of all lots of helpful and knowledgeable advice about walks and activities - so we avoided a potentially risky walk in rain but were advised to do a different one, and did a wonderful river safari by jet boat in good weather.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at the Bayview Motel...in fact, it was one of the best accommodations we had stayed at during our 10 day holiday on the South Island. We stayed at some luxurious/expensive accommodations during our stay and figured "what the heck let's try this one." Looks can be deceiving as we were more than happy with our small 2 bedroom flat. It is not posh at all, but rather definitely comfortable with furnishings and decor that reminded me of going to grandma's. The wireless internet left a bit to be desired as it didn't reach within our unit, but overall we found the experience to be fantastic. Great views of the mountains and the young, but experienced staff were extremely polite, helpful, and friendly. Located a short distance out of town (15-20 min walk at a decent pace) it is peaceful and provides all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Motel Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel Wanaka

Address: 263 Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality spacious and family friendly, units with modern amenities on extensive grounds, only 2 kms from Wanaka township with nearby fishing, skiing & tourist attractions. Qualmark 3 1/2 Star accommodation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Motel Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.