We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Hotel Mount Aspiring)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“quiet retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The apartment was up stairs and very quiet at night , the restuarant wasn't open but they did supply transport to the lone star. We opted to go into town. Lovely setting and the hot pool was very relaxing in the evening as we lazed watching the full moon between the clouds.
The apartment had lots of crockery and cutlery so you could cook up a meal in the microwave, even a bowl to wash your dishes in.we'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We and our best friends have just spent two weeks in New Zealand and our second week was spent in the south Island and we stayed at Wyndham Wanaka. What a beautiful find! We indulged and stayed in the 3 bedroom deluxe and what a great decision. We were at the rear of the property so it was very quiet and the apartment was beautiful. Very modern, with every convenience, elegantly and comfortably decorated with a gas log fire for ambience, heated floor tiles in the bathrooms (indulgence) and a stacked stone chalet design on the exterior with glimpses of the alps depending on where you were standing. Heated pool/spa although it was too cold for us to use! Wanaka is very close to so many attractions and destinations, (only 40 mins/1 hour from Queenstown depending which road you take), although we did turn left one day to buy coffee and ended up five hours drive away at the glaciers on the West Coast and then had to drive five hours back! One for the memoirs...... anyway the staff were lovely although I think they had some new trainees as we had to return a couple of times to get to speak to someone who knew where to book scenic flights and cruises and help us with the information we required. The restaurant is no longer operating just a small cafe but they have a shuttle bus to the 'lone star' restaurant which we used on the first night we arrived just for convenience and the restaurant turned out to be fabulous with their food and service. So good in fact - that is where we went on our final night for dinner before we flew back to Sydney. Parking is cosy and sometimes you do not get to park outside your unit but it is not a long walk anywhere in the complex. There is a back gate which leads you down to lake Wanaka and the walks into town are easy and just breathtakingly beautiful. Snow capped alps, cystal blue lakes, green parklands and lots and lots of crisp, clean air..........this property is in the heart of one of the most picturesque countries in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and I wish it could have been longer. Our two bedroom apartment was gorgeous, it would be very comfortable to stay for an extended period. The staff gave a warm welcome and provided helpful advice. The hot tub was divine. We ate at the restaurant, they were offering a main meal and dessert for $30 which was good value. The food and service were great but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. It would have been so much nicer if they had bothered to light the candles which were on the tables and had the fire going.
We hope to return to Wanaka for longer and I would definitely choose to stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took a deal on a studio room and were very impressed with our room, in particular the draw full of everything you may need. Parking was a bit tight but not an issue.
Our room was serviced after day one. Realised the reason my towel wasn't touched was because I didn't throw it on the floor. Nice subtle service as what a waste to change them just for the sake of it.
Well done to you and your staff.

Mike and Linda

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My Partner and i were looking for a place to stay and relax in Wanaka. I found a great deal on the internet for Wyndham Vacation Resort . We booked a studio room with a a balcony and slide door. The price was so reasonable and it looked really nice on the website.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised because it really our exceeded expectations. It was a lovely spacious Modern room with a huge King Bed, Small Kitchenette and a nice bathroom. It was really clean,warm and comfortable. I felt this room was perfect for us as it had the luxurious feel of a hotel along with a self contained area complete with Microwave oven, fridge, Kettle,coffee plunger ,blender and kitchenware etc. The only thing that may be disappointing to some people is the fact that you can't order cooked breakfast, but then again some of the apartments have a fully contained kitchen and also it's only a short walk from town.

I think overall this place is value for money, it's suitable for couples, friends or families.
The staff at reception we're really nice and helpful. We had a lovely time and really enjoyed our stay. I would Highly recommend it to anyone and we will definitely return.

Andrea- Queenstown

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here one night and were totally satisfied with our experience. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was an Alpine Studio Double and was amazingly spacious, and extremely comfortable. The only downside of the property was the limited parking. We never tried the restaurant for meals so can't comment on that.

Will absolutely return for a longer break at some stage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed setting and room amenities. The staff were very welcoming upon our arrival and advised us about the possibility of limited parking later in the afternoon, after all the skiers returned from the mountain. We were in an Alpine Studio Double room which was spacious and had a great bathroom. The pressure from the shower head was amazing and the only thing was a lot of water went through the gap in between the shower door and wall. We ate dinner at the restauarant on site and had a lovely meal, and the wait staff were very friendly and accommodating. We ordered dessert to our room later and even though we were told there would be a substantial wait, it arrived within 20 minutes. Upon checkout we asked for the best place in town for breakfast and the woman on the front desk suggested a place we would have never found otherwise - and the brekky was awesome!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Hotel Mount Aspiring)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.