We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap, cleanliness poor, leaky shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manuka Crescent Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manuka Crescent Motel to your Saves list
Manuka Crescent Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF FOR DIRECT BOOK
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not cheap, cleanliness poor, leaky shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed one night, arrived in the evening, on the surface it appeared clean but the bathroom was not cleaned very well and the shower leaked through the screen. When advised to reception on checkout, I was advised that this was new to her, which I doubt if previous people had showered or even if the cleaner used it to clean the shower or maybe they didn't. I did not think it to be value for money. I have stayed in better accommodation for better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCM47126, Owner at Manuka Crescent Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi I am unsure which unit you are referring to as your specific details are not provided however we can only apologise that you felt you did not enjoy your stay with us. We receive excellent feedback about the cleanliness of our units on many sites so are disappointed with your response. We continue to respond to all of our feedback and having checked all of our screen doors can find none that are leaky, however we will continue to monitor this. With regards to value for money this is always purely subjective however we currently offer the lowest motel rates in Wanaka as we are that little bit out of town and endeavour to provide value for money and have received many many positive feedback comments that we are doing just that so again we are disappointed that this was not the case in your particular case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night, The motel is in a quiet location quite close to town. We checked in around 8:30pm. The windows had been left open (for ventilation) and if the day had been cooler, the unit could have been quite cold.
The unit had one bedroom with a single and king size bed and there were 2 single beds in the kitchen/living room. The kitchen was well appointed
For some reason, the head of the king size bed was a foot or so from the wall. It was easy to push back into place but it was a bit odd. The toilet was hard to flush - it was a duo flush unit and both buttons had to be pushed down VERY hard before the cistern would flush.
But, for $90 in Wanaka the motel represented very good value and I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkefield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my mum. It was very nice and clean and the staff were friendly.
it had a nice and quiet location. But still very close to town. We stayed in a studio room and the room was plenty big enough for 2 people.
Good value and would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Toured both North and South Island during January / Feb used 19 motels in all , seeking twin accommodation. Just one night spent here. Pleased to find the place as the map in the Jasons/AA? book was not so clear. So glad we did. Excellent value, Double bedroom and two beds in living area. Good dining space. Clean, comprehensive kitchen and ditto bathroom. Quiet too, a real bonus. Parking outside, even a little pool. Very affable host. Although out of town it is only a few minutes drive and excellent value. Would stay again and have recommened to a friend already.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for one night in a standard studio for $88. This wasn't the best motel we stayed in during our trip to New Zealand but it was one of the cheaper ones so I guess you get what you pay for. The room was a good size and clean. Bathroom was fine if a bit dated. It's located maybe a couple minutes drive from the town. It'd be a longish walk though, maybe 25 mins so not the best location if you like to walk into and out of town. We didn't find the staff particularly friendly. They didn't volunteer any info on the locality when we checked in. The usual "Do you need a map?" and "Are you looking for somewhere to eat?" would have been nice.

This place did the job for a one night stopover and was decent value but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

this motel is very good value, clean and well maintained and very cheap as it's not on the main drag in wanaka. Only 2 minutes from the restaurants and the lake.
we were going to leave wanaka and go further north to find something cheaper as all the motels were over our budget but the helpful lady at the i-site gave us this recommendation and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for a week over the winter season. First thing we noticed in our motel room was the cleanliness of the bathroom and kitchen- for us a big positive! The beds were comfortable, and the staff even recommended a restaurant and gave us a voucher. I think for the the cost it's great value and we could store our skis in the dry room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Studio is very good value we found, we could cook dinner before we went out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuka Crescent Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuka Crescent Motel

Address: 51 Manuka Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manuka Crescent Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in an extremely quiet location offering affordable spacious self contained studios & one and two bedroom apartments. Free wifi, 32 inch flat screen tvs with Sky TV. Kitchnettes with stove tops for two saucepans, Electric fry pan, microwave oven refrigerators and kettle/jug for tea & coffee making. All units have a dining area & couches for relaxation along with outside seating terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Manuka Crescent Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wanaka
Manuka Crescent Hotel
Wanaka Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuka Crescent Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.