We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Bakpaka

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Bakpaka
Save
You added Wanaka Bakpaka to your Saves list
117 Lakeside Road, Wanaka | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tainan, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“friendly staff and beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

although my friend and i went there earlier
the staff is still friendly and welcome us
she patiently introduce the whole place , equipment and answer any question
the scenery is very beautiful which make me feel relaxed and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi there
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka in August. We are so pleased to hear that yourself and friend enjoyed the setting and scenery here. Right now we are in the middle of summer so there is mop snow on the mountains and a lot of boats on the lake which we can see from the living room.
We hope you enjoyed your trip around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    52
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
85
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff, clean and airy en suite double room, well equipped kitchen (including cafetieres and free lemons from their tree), free wifi, good views from the lounge area. The staff were helpful in organising my parachute jump. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi Hannah

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We are so pleased to here you enjoyed your time with us and found the facilities to your liking. Our lemon tree is amazing and we are lucky enough to get lemons all year round for guests to enjoy. We also have a herb garden and fresh strawberries in it right now! I'm sure you will remember your time in Wanaka since you had an adrenaline experience like skydiving. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand.

Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The location is just above the lake Wanaka. 10-15min short walk to town area. We stayed in the 4 shared room which is just nice and clean. Bathroom is clean and kitchen is big enough for all of the traveler. Free Wifi is given upon check-in. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi there

We are so Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in November and would recommend us to other travellers. We are lucky to be a short walk from town which means we are not amongst the hustle and bustle but close enough so you can still enjoy all the activities and restaurants town has to offer. We hope you took away some great memories in Wanaka.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We traveled with our adult daughter in late October 2013. This was my first real hostel experience and I can't imagine a better hostel accommodation anywhere. We had a private room for 3 with ensuite bathroom. The bedroom (three single beds) and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Bedding was provided but towels were not. We had our own but could have paid for them if needed. The shared kitchen, dining room and lounge were outstanding. My daughter, who travels extensively and stays in hostels around the world, said this was the best kitchen facility she's ever encountered. The location, directly above Lake Wanaka, is spectacular. The town is small and everything is within walking distance. Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Liked having ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Wanaka Bakpaka. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially since this is one of your first hostel experiences!
We do try to keep all of our private and communal areas clean & tidy so guests can enjoy their stay. Whether it be summer or winter the view overlooking the lake is always memorable.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in a room with shared bathroom on the first night and a lakeview room ensuite on the next two nights. View from the lakeview room is lovely! Staff was really friendly. Great place to base yourself while touring Wanaka.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that it is a great view you experience when staying in the Lake View Double Ensuite. We are lucky to have similar views in the living room where all guests can enjoy as well. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand.

Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Was a good place to stay. Was the best BackPackers on our trip around the top of the South Island. In fact we cancelled our accommodation in Queenstown so we could stay longer and the staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi there

Wow thanks so much for reviewing your stay here at Wanaka Bakpaka in July. To say that we are the best backpackers you stayed at in the South Island means alot and we appreciate your compliment. We do strive to keep the backpackers tidy, comfy and relaxing place for each guests stay! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around New Zealand.
Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a great backpackers. We were shown around around the place by Ian and he was smiling the whole time! Felt very welcome. Very cool location right next to the lake for a great price. Would have loved to stay a little longer and we would thoroughly recommend the stay :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WanakaBakpaka, Owner at Wanaka Bakpaka, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Tim

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay here with us at Wanaka Bakpaka in September. It's great when guests have enjoyed their stay that they recommend us to fellow travelers.
We hope to see you back some day at Wanaka Bakpaka : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Bakpaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Bakpaka

Address: 117 Lakeside Road, Wanaka | Otago, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic quiet lakeside location. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of town. "Bus and Group" free ambience allowing you to enjoy our garden courtyard. Our comfy, spacious and TV free lounge overlooks Lake Wanaka with it huge floor to ceiling windows. Its these views which are our biggest clincher, followed by the NEW kitchen, vareity of room types and outside areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wanaka Bakpaka Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Bakpaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.