We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hostel, great staff and superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
56 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 43 Specialty lodging in Wanaka
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Comfortable hostel, great staff and superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just left this hostel after 3 nights in a double room. The hostel was easy to find and the manager Toby at check in was really helpful and gave us advice on what to do in Wanaka, and where the good restaurants were. He also gave us advice on the best places to see as we rented a car for a day.

The room was very clean and had a heater. There was no noise at night. The bathrooms and kitchen were also very clean. The kitchen was fully equipped and had plenty of storage space.

There was a spa pool and a nice area outside to relax. They had laundry facilities as well, and a clothes line outside. The kitchen has a dining area with a fire that is perfect to relax in.

The location is perfect, a 2 minute walk from the supermarket and a 5 minute walk to the lakefront.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

Very nice hostel with a very friendly manager who helps whenever he can!
After an awesome day with skydive or snowboarding it's the best to relax in the hotpool!
The rooms are very clean and big enough for everyone!

This hostel is definitely not a party hostel! If you want party you have to go 3minutes to the center of the city!
The supermarket is only 2 minutes down the street!

Everyone will enjoy the stay at the Matterhorn!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Separate buildings: lodge (in which we stayed) and backpackers. Comfortable motel-style room with and small fridge & TV. Separate heater in each room, bedroom & bathroom. The lodge's communal kitchen & TV/internet rooms gave the best of both world's: our own comfortable room plus opportunities to mix with other travellers. Well located in the centre of town only one block from a supermarket. Washing machine & clothes dryer available.

The manager, Toby Panter, was most efficient and helpful. He happily fielded questions on the fly whilst hurrying to carry out some duty or other, and always delivered on what he said he would do. He helpfully perused the internet and made a call to book us into accommodation at our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatterhornSouth, General Manager at Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Very much appreciated, thank you. Was a pleasure to welcome you at the Matterhorn. Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed in the lodge ensuite accommodation, it's good value for wanaka, but that is relative to the high cost of accommodation there. The location is excellent, being one block from the main street. I paid the same per night as at the 5*Sudima Auckland airport $95nz. room is small, very limited storage space, could do with more hanging hooks in the bathroom. carpet is tired.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in. It has a small homley feel and the managers are so friendly. People come for a day and stay for weeks. If you come to Wanaka stay here you wont regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hostel is really nice! The owners Pete and Donna are very nice and it is clear they want their guest to enjoy their stay. While I was there, they organised an international night where people had to cook a meal from their country. It was an awesome activity.

I recommend this hostel to everybody!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

There are backpacker rooms and better rooms in another building in the same site.
The backpackers is gross, the kitchen is tiny and was disgusting - we didnt cook there. The common area was small and not comfy. The guests seemed all to be the 22 yr old party backpacker type. There was a dartboard on the outside of the wall to our room that you could hear inside the room- thank god everyone went out to do their boozing because it could have been a long night. As it was it was nice and quiet during the night. The beds were clean and comfortable. Just too bad the rest of the joint sucked , it would have been nice to be comfortable and hang out while we werent doing stuff in Wanaka.
One thing that really annoyed me was the obvious nicer building in the same compound- we could see inside into what were obviously facilities that the owners care much more about - I dont think they should be in the backpacker business if they just regard people on a budget as second class citizens or something. There are other backpackers in town that obviously regard their guest with a little more esteem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers

Address: 56 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Specialty lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide all travellers a home away from home to take a break from your break. So Climb on in! A homely relaxing atmosphere set in beautiful Wanaka with friendly kiwi’s and travellers from all around the world.We have log fires to warm you up in winter and sun decks with plenty of shade to chill out in summer.There are two fully equipped kitchens one each for Lodge and Backpacker Accommodations.This blend of affordable Backpacker and Lodge Accommodation with friendly management and superb location will give you a very enjoyable stay.Top floor of the lodge accommodation overlooks the lake and the mountains. We are located near the centre of the township, just a short walk from the Lake. There are separate areas for backpackers and Lodge guests but we encourage everyone to join in and get to know each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.