We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good service, local color” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Bar Grill Restaurant

Bullock Bar Grill Restaurant
71 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 7148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: The Grill not only offers the best steak in Wanaka with Silver Fern Farms Reserve Grade Beef cooked to perfection but also the option for free BYO from the huge selection of wines at The Bullock Bar Bottle Store. With a great friendly atmosphere, perfect for groups on a night out, couples or those looking for a quick bite The Grill is not to be missed. Reliable, friendly and fantastic food!
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service, local color”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a local pub with a restaurant at the back, that serves good size pub meals. We both ordered the the rib eye steak, he ordered his medium-well and I order medium-rare, so his was perfectly medium and mine was too rare. At the end of the meal, when she came to collect our plates, the waitress was horrifed that I'd tried get through it and offered to get me another, but cooked as I wanted it. she explained that their cooked tended to under cook the steak. But other than that, we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    5
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
“Best service in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went to the grill restaurant as part of a large group of 50 or more people
All meals came out in a fast time frame & were very well presented
NOT one complaint from anyone in our group, We were all very happy with
the service & meals received on the night ( Good old kiwi pub food with a flare)
So nice to go out for a meal and be greeted by a bunch of happy staff
that smiled all night & went out of their way to make a very sad night into
a memorable night for all to share
A very big thank you to Megan & her friendly team & The boys in the bullock bar
that made this a night too remember a very special Lady !!!
If you are looking for a great meal don't go pass The Grill

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pub in Wanaka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hearty plain food at a reasonable price. Decent well-cooked sirloin for me and a huge serving of lovely fresh fish'n'chips for partner. Warm and cosy with a giant boiler beside us providing almost too much heat on a chilly night. Friendly relaxed staff, generally all round good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub food...the pub is just like your normal pub...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We all loved the food we ate here...i went for the kilo of ribs and what a good, big feed after a hard days riding...the boys got a 750gm steak and the mrs had a prawn, calamari and chorizo bowl...all scrumptious. We then went next door to the pub with pokies, TAB section and of course cold beer/cider on tap. We were there to see the Wallabies take on the All Blacks. We had great seats and the pub got quite full...we had a fun night there...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

A proper pub type feel to this place and the beer is very well looked after. Staff are great.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Bar Grill Restaurant also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bullock Bar Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullock Bar Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.