We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting exhibit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
11 Lloyd Dunn Avenue, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
+64 3-443 7010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Attractions in Wanaka
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in December 2011, this visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, world class selection of privately owned classic cars, visual arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks, meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ran into some rainy weather and decided to go out to the airport for a tour of Warbirds and Wheels. The museum is in a hangar and is well laid out with wonderful stories of war time heroes as well as several warbirds. On the other side of the hangar they have quite a few beautifully restored cars, including several Packards and a Deusenberg that was originally owned by Carole Lombard. On a partial upper level there was an exhibit about a New Zealander who was responsible for managing the deer population. We were in an out in an hour. Glad we went. It was small but well done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    9
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Presentation,presentation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This museum has a limited number of exhibits of a very high standard that are presented to a very high standard. I would have liked to have known more about some of the history of the vehicles. Some vehicles appear to be recent LHD imports from the USA. They hold no interest for me. The Warbirds exhibition was of interest though I know nothing about military aircraft.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Visit to Wanaka Warbirds Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last July, while on a South Island Holiday,, we had the opportunity to stop at the Wanaka Warbirds and Wheels Museum. On Arrival, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
We spent some time looking around the museum, which was warm inside, despite the fact that this was mid-winter, and had been snowing the day before.
The Exhibits all appeared to be in very good condition, and the staff were able to answer any questions that we or our children asked. Magnificent restored American Cars.
We looked at the section on World War 2 Planes, which was also very interesting.
A very worthwhile stop!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Loved the cafe! Added bonus.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was interested to read recent postings on this café. Had lunch here on a recent visit to Wanaka. Loved the décor and had a yummy steak sandwich washed down with a great cappuccino. Can sit outside under a tree on a hot day which is a bonus. Also it makes a good place to hang out while friends are checking out other attractions at Wanaka airport. Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

An excellent collection of classic cars and airplanes. A big surprise so far off the beaten path. Located on Highway 6 at the Wanaka airport. Worth a stop if you like classic cars and airplanes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warbirds & Wheels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.