We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hot Chocolate"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Grind

Urban Grind
Next door to Foursquare supermarket | 72 Ardmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
+64 3-443 6748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza, Eclectic, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Hot Chocolate"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The best hot chocolate we have ever had, not bad coffee either! A fantastic bar/ cafe with a great atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    53
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“COOL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fantastic ubercool rustic hangout for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
A very popular spot for locals.

The beef with blue cheese mains is highly recommended for dinner.

A modern restaurant that easily impresses!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good restaurant, food and service were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recommended by a local business manager, we were not disappointed.
We booked a table and were got the right by the fire. The waitress was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.....and knew her stuff about the great tasting beers from the NZ micro breweries!
The croquettes were very good as was the Calamari and pizza
Would go back again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tasty but please buy some egg cups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch here with our 4 children, after visiting puzzling land. The soup was delicious and very filling and the rest of the family had eggs of one sort or another. The service was lovely and really friendly.

My only complaint E's that there were soft boiled eggs with soldiers on the childrens menu - my childrens' favourire. However, when the perfectly cooked eggs arrived they were without egg cups, making them almost impossible to eat, as they were too hot to hold. When I asked the waitress she said they didn't have egg cups. In addition, the ciabatta soldiers were rather too large to dip in the eggs. Not an ideal combo when eggs with soldiers are on the menu!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanG_12, Manager at Urban Grind, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I totally agree more egg cups were needed and have now been supplied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely decor n architecture - great coffee too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Went to the Grind as a recommendation from a local - fabulous decor with wooden floors, black steel beams and raw bricks - the coffee n hot chocolate was great as well. Lots of locals having coffee and light meals - sure sign that the Urban GRind are doing it right. Nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Grind also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Urban Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Grind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.