We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funny French Car Tours

Funny French Car Tours
Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
0064 0273866932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Food & Drink in Wanaka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We offer a variety of fun and adventurous tours in our quirky classic Citroen 2cv, or the luxurious ds models, within the central Otago region, New Zealand, showcasing the famous newworld pinot noirs in this young wine region.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must Do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I were in Central Otago for my birthday, so she booked the wine tour so we could both enjoy seeing the area and not have to drive and drink. However, the day turned into way better than we ever hoped.!!

At 10:30 am a little Burgundy Citroen 2CV rocked up to our accommodation in Pisa Moorings. Julie hoped out and we introduced each other. The little car looked tiny and daunting to squeeze into....but I was wrong. It was fun, quirky and great to ride in.

It was a highlight of our trip.!!

Julie took us to lovely Vineyards, where we sampled great wines and learned so much of the region. She showed us through areas we hadn't been before and was totally enjoyable.

Three highlights that standouts of places visited were lunch at Wild earth, Bubbles at Quartz Reef Winery, and Jenny at the Pisa Range Estate. But everyplace was great.

Would we do it again.... H#@$ Yes!!!!!

Thanks again Julie, and see you when we are next down. Dave & Caro.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Liz S. a really fun and interesting day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had a great day with Julie visiting wineries and her artist friend Allan. Julie is very informative and flexible on her tour. We tasted mainly Pinots, my request, and I am sure going to places I wouldn't have found without her local knowledge. The car was very comfortable and Julie drove it well always willing to stop to view a beautiful scene of which there were many.
This is a tour I would definitely recommend to anyone coming to the Wanika area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“brilliant day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My maid of honour booked a half day tour for us girls to kick off my surprise hens day and we had the BEST time. Julie our driver not only had incredible knowledge about the area showing us new corners of the wanaka region but she was also very good tailoring the itinary to our group leaving us enough time to not feel rushed from A to B and at the same time knowing when to move on to the next stop. We had picnic at a gorgeous wee spot at a lake, stopped at 3 wineries and finished the tour with a cone of real fruit icecream. This Tour is definitely one to recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent & Classic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful classic transport. Comfy & a delight to be driven in style.
Dean was informative , amusing & entertaining, and his driving style felt very easy.
His knowledge of the local area in general , and especially the wineries is extensive.
A thoroughly great day out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the most beautiful day out touring with Deane and Julie. The cars were awesome, the pitt stops at various wineries was delightful! The whole day was amazing, our drivers local knowledge gave us a very interesting and special tour. Their down 2 earth relaxed Kiwi personalities topped everything off. Highly recommend others 2 try it. We are walking talking advertisements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funny French Car Tours also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Funny French Car Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funny French Car Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.