We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funny French Car Tours

Funny French Car Tours
Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
0064 0273866932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Food & Drink in Wanaka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We offer a variety of fun and adventurous tours in our quirky classic Citroen 2cv, or the luxurious ds models, within the central Otago region, New Zealand, showcasing the famous newworld pinot noirs in this young wine region.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the most beautiful day out touring with Deane and Julie. The cars were awesome, the pitt stops at various wineries was delightful! The whole day was amazing, our drivers local knowledge gave us a very interesting and special tour. Their down 2 earth relaxed Kiwi personalities topped everything off. Highly recommend others 2 try it. We are walking talking advertisements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value and knowledge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic day visiting vineyards in wine growing regions in central otago.
You are picked up in a cute French car by your friendly and knowledgable tour guide who has lived in the region for decades.
She was very knowledgable and able to offer suggestions on wine which we may like and then tailor the tour to suit us.
Was worth the 150 for the day and the sightseeing was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must-Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We hadn't planned to do a wine tour but were informed by all the locals it was well worthi it. We met Julie bright and early with our little Citroen 2CV and it the road instantly. Julie is a fountain of knowledge regarding the area and the wine-growers and tries very hard to cater the tour to your own tastes. She took us to 5 wine-makers in total all of them very different to each other, as well as a quick stop off to see the local tourist attractions and artists etc. The tour was fun, informative and really enjoyable. There is not much pressure to buy wine from each winemaker and do remember that lunch isn't included. Central Otago wines are really diverse and can be quite daunting, but funny french cars is a great way to experience the wine of the region and to learn and have fun while learning! If you have a spare day, give it a go!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Incredibly fun and knowledgeable tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friend and I went with Julie on her amazing tour on 1st Dec. Julie brought us beret's and we looked the part to match the very cool citreon car. Julie knew everything and everyone! She knows more about wine than most people and took us to some exceptional boutique wine places as well as the larger well known and awarded labels. Julie's warm spirit spurred us and the energy of the day as we cruised from amazing view to food to wine, and again and again!

If you want a personal, very special day, call Julie!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm friendly and authentic wine tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the most personalized wine tour that we've had. This is a service run by a couple. Deane was lovely and very warm. He took us to very different and non commercial wineries. We enjoyed the drive in his classic Citron. The pace of the tour was really perfect. We didn't have to rush through anything and went to as many wineries that we wanted to go to. He takes the trouble to understand your taste and takes you to wineries that you might like. We enjoyed our day and learnt a lot about wine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funny French Car Tours also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Funny French Car Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funny French Car Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.