We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view! ! Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alivate

Alivate
145 Ardmore st, Wanaka, New Zealand
+64 3-443 1188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: New small plate, tapas menu using local New Zealand produce. Extensive cocktail menu and craft beers and Central Otago wines.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome view! ! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Alivate while looking for a Lake side venue with a view, the view was much better than its competitors at Street level and we were greeted with friendly and attentive service.
Being a stunning central otago day we sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the sun scenery as we had our meals, all were happy with their meals and the presentation of the prawns was unique and quite a conversation starter!
While we enjoyed our outside dining inside also looked like a lovely setting for the colder months with a fire place and comfy intimate seating.
Would certainly return again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    32
    34
    8
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

'trendy' reastaurant with reasonable menu, but seemed expensive in comparison to other restaurants in the area and not great value for money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a lovely meal here on our last night in Wanaka, I ordered the Scollops as a main and they were cooked perfectly, juicy and tender. Steaks were cooked well, but one of our friends ordered the Venison and it came a bit overdone, and once sent back the chef returned a new, perfectly cooked amazing piece of meat. Good wine list, and the view as the sun goes down is simply beautiful. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussiepearce, Manager at Alivate, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi Joanne
thanks for your review and giving the chef's the chance to correct the issue with your meal
kind regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had lunch at Alivate, service friendly and food well presented. The shrimp looked specatular, see photo, but unfortunately it was over cooked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pom on the move
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing food, bad service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food is hit and miss, but the views here are nice and the floor staff are mostly friendly.

Our steak was good, came out cooked as requested although certainly a little over-sauced; the calamari was also enjoyed.
The venison on the other hand came served very well done even though it states medium rare on the menu, and was served with unseasoned potato rosti and a watery "reduction". The meat was tough with all flavour lost and really disappointing.

I would have bought this to the attention of the staff or manager at the time had someone checked back to ask if our meals were fine. Unfortunately nobody did check in with us while we were eating, when our plates were cleared or when we paid. The fact that the manager delivered all of the food including the overdone venison adds to the disappointing experience.

We dined at 6.30pm and there were perhaps 6 other tables in total dining.

I have eaten here a few times and lunches have always been good, The couple of times that I have been here in the evening however have not been great, which is a shame as Wanaka really needs a venue were service and food quality shine consistently.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alivate also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Alivate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alivate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.