We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dunno why people complain?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels

Save Saved
You added Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty lodging in Wanaka
1 review
“dunno why people complain?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

this place has awesome value for money... yes the wifi is not working but as a business owner they are doing what they can-why come to wanaka to sit on a computer? Great service amazing facilities and loved the bike hire...seriously if the wifi is the only problem your not on holiday?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    26
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great Holiday park with even better facilities, kids even stayed free when we booked in. Pity about the free wifi, it was unuseable for the times we wanted it,worst than dialup,very frustrating, I would of paid for the service just to get onto the net. Would stay here again but hopefully they will have a wifi provider like IKS-Internet kiosk specialist, instead of them trying to do it themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Front Office Manager at Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we have just changed WIFI providers and we have been experiencing some problems. We are trying our very hardest to rectify these so the internet should be faultless any minute now :) Glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for 1 night over Easter 2013 to attend the wedding. Motel unit did the job perfectly, its clean and tidy, lots of room for the whole family, has everything you need and great views down over the town and lake. Staff are really friendly and they kindly dropped us off in town to attend the wedding which was greatly received and unexpected. The only down side was we stayed just 1 night!

Room Tip: Seek staff for advice and bookings of local activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I first stayed here 13 years ago and was thrilled with the peaceful, friendly garden-like atmosphere and friendly people. It had been a favorite stop. When we arrived this April it was overcrowded but clean, noisy but reasonably organized, with wi-fi that was swamped by Skypers, and friendly, helpful but overwhelmed young staff. We secured a quiet campervan spot around 4PM and asked the staff if we drove into town for dinner, would the spot still be open. Yes of course, they said.

On our return ours and the neighboring spot were occupied, with two young couples in two rental vans whom we didn't know, watching and evidently waiting for us. We parked and I got out. "Hi, you're in our spot," I said, at which point one of the women launched into a rant. "Nice to meet you too!" she shouted, and became so aggressive that I (small older female) felt threatened. She continued ranting at me for a full minute, admitting that the staff had told her we really wanted the spot but that they did, too. I said nothing, and she eventually made a rather big deal of having to move, to which I merely said "Thank you." Both campervans moved to a nearby spot.

Later I received dirty looks in the bathroom from her, and felt further threatened. I reported it to the staff early the next morning because the office had been closed, and because I was concerned about repercussions in the night if I'd reported them immediately. Besides, there were no night staff in evidence and I did not feel that anyone was equipped to handle it. The young staffer I spoke with at the front desk in the morning was sympathetic and did what she could, though she seemed a bit more concerned that the two couples had sneaked in without paying. Because I was so uncomfortable, I asked her to hold off doing anything to alert the two couples that I'd reported their behavior until we had left. The staffer apologized for the incident and said at least one of the two couples would not be staying another night.

The only thing that might have mitigated this sorry incident somewhat would have been to have perhaps offered a refund, even a partial one, as a gesture, but nothing was said. When this many people are crowded into a so-called "Best in NZ" campground, the owners ought to anticipate and be ready to handle the occasional conflicts that arise, and when they aren't handled well, to not let customers leave feeling as we did: too bad, tough luck, see ya later. We won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This park is in the foothills overlooking spectacular Lake Wanaka. Reception is friendly and efficient (includes tour bookings) - inviting you into a meticulously clean park with great gardens, free WI FI everywhere, clean accessible facilities (the hot spas are recommended), indoor / outdoor cooking facilities and a free shuttle bus after 4pm. The lake is a relatively short walk down the hill and if your stuck the cab to Wanaka shopping centre is only NZ $12. Richard and Laura were great staff who assisted with our campervan dramas (and we had more than the average - lost keys, flat battery etc) with genuine support and concern. The focus was on ensuring we had a great NZ experience and we did!!! Strongly recommended for camper folks exploring Wanaka.

Room Tip: All the campervan sites are in good terraced positions with power, hoses etc!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree wholeheartedly with the overwhelmingly positive reviews already written here on Trip Advisor. We stayed here 2 nights over the last week and absolutely loved everything about our stay. Our welcome on both occasions was very friendly and we felt at home right away.

We stayed in the standard cabin without ensuite and found this the best value cabin (at $50) of all the holiday parks and cabins we have stayed in previously in New Zealand. The cabin is a stand-alone wooden building, with double bed, bookshelf, kettle, toaster and heater and is located a short walk from the facilities.

The pitches for camper vans also appeared nicely spaced out, and were all weather sites so would not get muddy in rain.

We found the showers and toilets very clean and well looked after. The other facilities including kitchen, lounge and laundry (although not extensively used by us) also looked excellent. They also had a private spa on site, which we don't get round to using this time, but will be sure to book into should we return.

Overall we would unreservedly recommend this holiday park to others looking for outstanding and excellent value accommodation in the Wanaka area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspiringcampervan, Front Office Manager at Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Eagle952,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. Our cosy little cabin is very popular, especially coming into the colder months. I'll definately let the staff know theyre doing a great job, be sure to come back and visit us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in the apartment unit for just 1 night. We loved the view of the park from our window and the ABSOLUTELY UNLIMITED WIFI access. Although the Lake Wanaka was far from being seen, we cared little of this given we have stayed in many lakeside accommodation during our trip. The bathroom is unusually big and comfy. The staff is so kind to provide us detail info for surrounding scenic spots. Here is definitely worthy of the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels

Address: Studholme Road North, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 Specialty lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, Motels, Powered or Un-Powered sites. We have something for every budget.When you stay with us enjoy FREE wifi, showers, spas, sauna, under-cover heated BBQ pavillion, Car wash & vacuum, drop off courtesy coach (4.15pm-8pm daily).All sites are fully sealed. Views of Mt Aspiring & Lake Wanaka.Winter warmers include log fire, under floor heating, wax bench and drying room.Free info-booking desk.Playground for the smaller travellers. Bike hire. Free DVD hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspiring Holiday Park & Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.