We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the studio” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka View Motel

Save Saved
You added Wanaka View Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wanaka View Motel
122 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Avoid the studio”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we had the budget studio and it was rather like being in a dungeon. It is supposed to have garden views but this is one metre against a fence at window height as it is high ground. It is also under another unit or owner's accommodation so one can hear creaking above. To cap it all it is by the laundry.
Closer examination from ad on booking.com shows it does not have a kitchen so washing up in a tiny space saver bathroom sink is very awkward. There is a sofa right next to the bed. Furniture is very old. Bedside tables are actually stools as they have seat depressions in them and the bedside lights have naked bulbs.
I doubt the other units really have lake views as side on. The units are called chalets and are certainly of an age.
Anyway, definitely avoid the studio and I reckon there is better elsewhere. A shame as people very nice indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had planned too far ahead so could only stay one night which was a real pity. Wanaka is a lovely town and the motel is perfectly situated facing over the park to the lake. Our chalet was spotless with a roomy lounge/kitchen. Bedrooms are small but more than adequate. Excellent value. Thanks to Brett and staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a very comfortable night here. There were lovely views across the park to the mountains plus Pam and Brett went out of their way to facilitate an urgent business call. It was va short walk to the town centre; restaurants and lake shore. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The front chalets have the best views and handy to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We toured south island and stayed in 9 different hotels.This was the best. Great rooms. Clean and spacious. Pam , was extremely nice and friendly. We had a baby and wanted to check out a little later the usual time. She said we can check out anytime we want. The rooms also had great views of the mountain and the lake . Cross the road to go for a walk in the park or 5 min walk to town center.
Great service and great rooms. What more can you ask?

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We planed to stay at wanaka for 2 nights only. But the weather and the motel were great - so we end up staying for 4 nights!
The room was modern design and it was very clean! It has a full kitchen (with a stove & oven). We had a great view from our room to the lake and moutains... The host's were extraordinary. They were very nice and helpfull (we are travelling for a month in NZ and did not come across with such a nice host's). Over all it was an excellent experience for us!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst driving round the south island. We didn't have a booking but pitched up on the night. It is a family run place. There are similarly named places in Wanaka so make sure you go to the one you want. I'm not sure this was the one we meant to go to but still. We paid for a one bedroom unit but the wifi didn't work in that one so we were moved to a 2 bedroom unit. The units are very small. The double bedroom door wouldn't close because there was no room. The living area has too much furniture in it, there is nowhere to put luggage. The bathroom was freezing and the shower was like a big sink, with a metal base and no shelves or anything. Having said that, the unit was modern, clean and very well equipped with full oven and hob for those cooking for themselves. It is also slightly away from restaurants and pubs, which would be fine in the summer but in the winter it is not very nice walking far when it is so cold outside. We stayed in nicer places for the same money but it was ok for a night.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed here overnight with 2 adults 2kids in a 2 bedroom room. Run by a friendly lady small place with about six little units. The location is fantastic just on the edge of main part of town,2 min walk. Across the road is an open park and you can walk straight down the lake,s edge, it's open space to the lake. So walking is easy to get anything you need. The units are really small, especially the bedrooms, but lounge and bedrooms were modern. So while it was a tight fit we found it comfortable. Basic kitchen with everything we needed to make a simple breakfast. Bathroom was a bit older looking than rest of the unit. Overall for the price it was great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wanaka View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka View Motel

Address: 122 Brownston Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Wanaka View Motel (Formerly Fern Lodge Motel) Wanaka - South Island - New Zealand! Amazing panoramic views from property. Recently refurbished and modernised, self-contained units. Mountain & lake views from most units. Easy walk across park to lake & town. Perfect winter & summer location. Motel Accommodation - Handy to all ski fields - 200m to lake and shops - 5 self-contained motel units, 3 with lake and mountain views, serviced daily: -2 x 1-bedroom (sleep 3)-2 x 2-bedroom (sleep 4)-1 x 3-bedroom (sleeps 6)-Private spa pool (winter)-Drying room-Off-street parking-All non-smoking-SKY TV, electric blankets, heating, tea/coffee-making facilities. Tariff Motel $110-$150. Seasonal rates apply. Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Eftpos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wanaka View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.