We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere, Very Knowledgeable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Wines & Spirits

Pembroke Wines & Spirits
24 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
+64 3-443 7818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Cuisines: Pub, Wine Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Description: Pembroke Wines and Spirits offers the wine lover an extensive selection of Central Otago wines, superb New Zealand and Australian wines, and other distinguished wines from around the world. The craft beer enthusiast will find Wanaka's largest selection of New Zealand craft beers to drink in or takeaway. We are also proud to have three varieties of Emerson's beers on tap. Located at 24 Dungarvon Street, Wanaka, John and Karen have set up the kind of place where you can get a decent glass of wine from a hand-picked list for an honest price. The unique idea of combining wine retail with a wine bar is proving popular with locals and tourists alike, so next time you're in the area drop by Wanaka's favourite wine and craft beer hangout.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere, Very Knowledgeable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came by to do some whiskey tasting on our way out for the night on a weekend trip up to ski at Treblecone. The staff was very helpful and quickly made me feel at home. They were extremely knowledgeable and helped us get started with a few different kinds of whiskey. Nice store with a huge selection for drinkers and newbies alike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJHH29, Public Relations Manager at Pembroke Wines & Spirits, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for shopping with us and taking the time to review our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly, great recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped in to pick up a bottle of local pinot nor. After looking for a few minutes and reading all of the labels the gentleman behind the counter asked if we'd like some help selecting. We told him our price range and he gave us an excellent recommendation which we enjoyed later that evening. We also got to chatting and he gave us a little history about Wanaka and the wine country. Great little shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent concept!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our favourite place to pop in and enjoy a drink with John the owner. As locals it is nice not to be swamped by the crowds, and the selection, service and atmosphere is just perfect. Well done John, family and staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top shelf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Best beer selection in Wanaka. Fantastic service and great relaxed atmosphere. As locals this is the spot we go. Superb.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great selection and fun stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This place is one of our favorites to grab a drink, be it a craft beer or a glass of good wine, (while having pizza delivered from Francesca's pizza caravan around the corner). The owner is helpful, friendly, and great at ordering specialty products.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembroke Wines & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Pembroke Wines & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Wines & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.