We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lonely Mountain Tours

Lonely Mountain Tours
272 Ballantyne Road, RD2, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
0800 663 7464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 50 activities in Wanaka
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We offer you a true taste of the spectacular Central Otago region with a choice of gourmet, wine and Lord of the Rings tours from Lake Wanaka. Relax, indulge & enjoy… scrumptious local produce… Lord of the Rings landscapes… perfect pinots… behind the scenes stories… hidden havens… historic icons… colourful characters… dramatic props… enthusiastic & knowledgeable guides... entertaining insights… comfortable transport… small groups… just choose your favourite tour or we’ll create your own personalised tour.
Jordan Station, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Recently (Dec. 14 and 15 I think but I could be out a day) we had the privilege of having John as our tour guide on a 2 day tour from Milford Sound to Dunedin. John was well versed in so many areas -- geography, geology, history, folk lore, current local situations, etc. and he came prepared with photographs and maps and postcards to augment his narrations. He's ultra organized and ultra relaxed at the same time...even when the weather threw us a curve by closing the road (rock slide) before we even boarded the bus and then later when the bus broke down (luckily for us ladies right in front of a great souvenir/ice cream store) he managed to keep us organized and happy.

We thoroughly enjoyed our days with John and wished he could have led all our tours. If you're looking for a great guide on the south island, John's the guy for you. We highly recommend him. Thanks John for a great 2 days.

Rick & Mary Ellen Berry, Jordan Station, Ontario, Canada

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at Lonely Mountain Tours, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Mary Ellen thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive recommendation. It is always a pleasure to give visitors a taste of the 'real' New Zealand with my own unique spin of course :) Thank you for being so understanding about those unexpected hitches... I would just say Lonely Mountain Tours didn't provide the vehicle for this tour just the guiding services! Kind regards John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine and LOTR Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour with John. We were fortunate to be the only people on the tour, so we got to do exactly what we wanted. We had a great mix of a Lord of the Rings tour, seeing some cool sights whilst getting a great description from John. We also went to several wineries, had a great platter lunch at one of them and got some great bottles of wine on our way. We also got to go to Puzzling World to see something to do with the Lord of the Rings filming, really interesting!

Thorougly enjoyed it and would highly recommened, very friendly and knowledgable tour guide!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at Lonely Mountain Tours, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi Mark thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we appreciate your positive feedback. We always aim to be as flexible as possible on our tours and are pleased we could accommodate your interest both LOTR and wine tasting... it's great to be able to combine two must do Central Otago experiences in one tour! Puzzling world is fun isn't it :) Thanks again for choosing Lonely Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

John guided our cross country tour off the ship, not something I believe he normally does. We couldn't have had a better guide. John made our two-day trip fun and interesting. Wish we could have stayed longer and taken a private tour with him. If you have interest in nature, good food and wine, and/or Lord of the Rings and Hobbit movies - this is the guide for you. John knows all the spots where filming has taken place. A kind and gentle man, John will give you wonderful memories of your time in the south island of New Zealand. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Foodies Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We visited Wanaka for the skiing but not much snow so we searched for alternative entertainment! Being ardent foodies this Taste of Central tour fitted the bill perfectly. This was a full day of tempting treats starting with canopies and wine tastings at a gorgeous little vineyard, onto Cromwell famous for its stone fruit for more tastings of goodies, then onto a cheesery with a great selection of local produced cheese, my favourite was the blue! The highlight of the day was a mouth watering 4 course lunch at another rustic but stylish vineyard with great ambiance. The dishes were chosen by the chef who uses local, seasonal ingredients to produce some very attractive and tasty plates. Finally, we headed to quaint little Arrowtown and as we didn’t have desert with our lunch we tried some tasty sweet treats. As well as the great food and wine, our guide John was a font of knowledge and he brought the area to life with his stories, very entertaining! He got the pace of the day just right too and we appreciated that we had time by ourselves to enjoy our lunch together. All in all if you enjoy quality food and you want to get a insiders feel for the area this tour is highly recommended.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Very comfortable travel, and a very friendly guide. Having visited various wineries and a very tasty platter lunch with amazing views, John offered the option of more winery visits or a trip to Arrowtown. Fudge, homemade pastry pies, beer tasting and spectacular Arrowtown scenery completed a wonderful day, thanks John. May I also recommend to visitors of Wanaka the Cheeky Monkey Cafe.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonely Mountain Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lonely Mountain Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonely Mountain Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lonely Mountain Tours to your Saves list