We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak in Wanaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trout Bar & Restaurant

Trout Bar & Restaurant
151 Ardmore St, Wanaka, New Zealand
+64 3-443 2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 63 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Trout's prime location on the lake front of Wanaka provides it with fantastic views. We have great food, whether you are just after a snack or a main meal. We have 6 Monteiths beers, Heineken & Erdinger on tap as well as a wide range of local wines.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best steak in Wanaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a nice (not rowdy) bar that serves great food at a reasonable price. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wines - what a refreshing change in a tourist town!
I travel and eat out a lot, and I have to say, the fillet steak I ordered was the best I can remember.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    4
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed it so much we returned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food at this restaurant was lovely and service friendly. A little more expensive, but worth it. We enjoyed our first visit so much that we returned on our last night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good vibes, yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Wednesday night and Trout Bar is half full with a happy crowd if what looks like locals and skiers. I'm trying to eat more greens so ordered the Thai salad with beef and prawns ($20), accompanied by a Hawkes Bay Chardonnay ($10.50). The salad is full if fresh greens grated carrot and finely sliced red onion with s generous amount of prawns and beef - both cooked perfectly. The dressing was citrusy and tangy. The crunchy Asian noodles added some interest. All in all a well balanced plate full. I thought the price was reasonable. The wine went down very nicely, thank you for asking!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food, excellent service and tasteful music, highly recommended.
We had the venison from the West Coast and the Blue Codd, cruisey and friendly staff, good selection of beer and wines, good kiwi music

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food,Good Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at The Trout recently and we were impressed by the level of service and the gorgeous food we ordered! We were running late and phoned to notify the restaurant, which was not a problem. We were promptly seated and presented menus. The specials were explained to us and when I indicated that I had dietary requirements, alternatives were offered. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the portions sizes were good, the cooking of the food perfect and the flavours exceptional. We will most definately visit the Trout again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trout Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Trout Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.