We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot, Rude Host.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Backpackers

Mountain View Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain View Backpackers to your Saves list
Mountain View Backpackers
7 Russell Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Spot, Rude Host.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Having stayed at this hostel for little under 2 weeks I enjoyed the majority of my time here,the MALE staff are lovely - helpful,polite and friendly. The hostel is clean and tidy with spacious rooms. Having only communicated with the male staff and been impressed with their professional yet casual approach to guests I was utterly disgusted with the way in which the middle aged female ( who I presume is the owners wife/sister) employee who's aggressive nature made me feel extremely uncomfortable. I said hello and held the door open for her to which she replied with nothing but a disgruntled look. I also over heard her talking about the female woofer saying how she thought she wasn't doing her job properly, this was in full ear shot of myself and other guests.
I found this to be most unnerving and really felt like telling her to keep her voice down.The service was impeccable from the male staff. All in all a nice place to stay if you are willing to pay $23 a night to be treated like a piece of dirt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Small comfortable room. messy kitchen to cook, but nice view. The staff are very helpful showing us place to dine. Bathroom door is broken. Overall is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here in March 2010 for two nights. This isn't a party babckpackers which was good for us as we just wanted to relax. Nice little common area and kitchen to cook in so can still chat with the other guests and have some drinks. Owner was really nice. All and all good stay for what you pay for.

Room Tip: We had the Mt Aspiring room up the end with a shared bathroom - would think is one of the quieter ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland nz
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at a night when the place was full but kitchen n showers managed to b clean. Good walking distance to town. Had private double room . Walls bit thin but comfy bed. Good value for money

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We had a nice double room which was clean and quiet. The kitchen was nice, though a little small and squished if others are cooking at the same time. The owners were very friendly (but squabbled with each other a few times within earshot which was a bit wierd (though not at all a problem). The kitchen and lounge are in the same space meaning it gets noisy. When we were there there was a very noisy group who dominated the kitchen/living room talking very noisily meaning we were unable to properly enjoy the space. But the room and the garden were nice and quiet and most importantly we slept really well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was one of the best hostels we stayed in in New Zealand. Very clean, with a big lawn and seats outside, and a well-equipped kitchen. Shared bathrooms located inside the building, it felt almost like an en-suite. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We only stopped in Wanaka for one night, but I am glad we chose this backpackers to spend our only night. We had not made a reservation but we were accommodated for immediately when we arrived by the English owner.
The owner gave us very good tips on the area and how to see the best of Wanaka in the short time we had.
We drove to Wanaka and were able to park the car on the driveway which was good.
The communal area is homely, with good tv and free dvds to watch.
Finally, the bedrooms were comfortable and we were provided with a duvet as opposed to just a sheets which was very much appreciated!
Overall, it was excellent value for money at $25 each (four bed dorm).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Backpackers

Address: 7 Russell Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a home away from home-style backpackers centrally located in town, with only 29 beds. When you stay with us you will enjoy modern facilities with internet as well as wireless internet, great mattress, heaters in all rooms and large garden area and these are just some of the great facilities we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mountain View Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.