We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peak Sport Chalet to your Saves list
Peak Sport Chalet
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Family Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great chalet. Very clean and well set up; great kitchen. We stayed as a family with 4 adult children - we just found that two people had to sleep on the couches (beds) which were comfortable but unsuitable for tall people. Our hosts were extremely hospitable. A strong recommendation for this lovely lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your response. We always aim for the most comfortable stay of our guests and we are glad to learn that you liked our Chalet. However, I would like to make a comment about the sofa beds. Our web-site indicates that there are 2 sofa beds, one in the twin room and one in the lounge. Your booking was done via an online booking agent and on their web-site it clearly states there are 2 sofa beds used for 6 guests. The sofa beds are over 2m long and both my husband and I have tried them for 1 week to make sure they live up to our expectations. Direct bookings will get sent out an e-mail confirming the bedding details, but we will make sure from now on to include this with bookings via online agents as well, should add. bedding be required. Thank you for letting us know.
We do hope to host you again when you come back to Wanaka and looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
90
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice stay with fully equipped kitchen. Very clean. Alex and Christine are so nice and helpful. This is the best accommodation through my way down to South. Would strongly recommend this lodge to those travelers who will spend a night in Wanaka.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you loved our accommodaton so much. Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed with Alex and Christine on April 7, 2013. Their welcome was genuine and warm and they even joined us for breakfast which was both charming and informative about the locality. The organic breakfast was the tastiest and best presented breakfast we had during a month of travel. The acommodation was private, quiet and comfortable and we enjoyed a restful night, set within small, lovely gardens. It's also very good value for money! We reccommend it unconditionally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Christine and Alex were excellent hosts, very helpful and welcoming. The two bedroom chalet was spacious for our family of 5 with three teenagers. The teenagers also appreciated the free internet connection. We loved the fireplace. The kitchen was well-stocked for preparing meals for the family. The accommodation is conveniently located and quiet. The chalet was immaculate - very clean and comfortable. Christine was happy to make some phone calls on our behalf to confirm an activity we had booked. We enjoyed our time in Wanaka and would return to this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very good place to stay,despite a little far away from the town center,everything is perfect,the host, the facility,the little cute garden,and wonderful view.especially the dish washing machine,it is my favorite part:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great and spacious accommodation, close to lake. Everything was there, even a toy box for the kids.
Alex & Christine made us feel very welcome and were very kind and helpful with great tips to explore Wanaka!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Peaceful, secluded accommodation with friendly hosts. Really enjoyed my stay - Christine and Alex made me feel at home. Short walk from the lake and few minutes drive from town. Everything you need is provided, and accommodation is clean and tidy, with modern facilities and comfortable bed. Would recommend, and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Sport Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.