We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for solo, couple or family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Sport Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peak Sport Chalet to your Saves list
Peak Sport Chalet
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent for solo, couple or family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The studio was booked up for our dates and we took one of the rooms of the 2 bedroom chalet which turned out to be just as good if not better than the studio :) I would strongly recommend a stay both in winter for the log fire and underfloor heating in the toilet as well as in summer (had a lazy read in the garden,nice!).

As for breakfast with Alex and Christine, perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
90
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Comfortable, clean & modern accommodation in quiet residential area. Close to lakeside park, pleasant walk or short drive to business centre and restaurants. Very friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts ensured my stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a group we used both the studio and the 2 bedroom chalet during a stay of 2 nights. Both rooms were impeccably clean, with a small selection of sweets awaiting our arrival. Both rooms feature a full array of cooking utensils and equipment. The studio has a couple of hot plates, but the 2 bedroom apartment boasts a full oven.

Breakfast was provided in the morning, and what a spread! European style bread (absolutely delicious, thanks Christine!) along with muesli, yoghurt, fruit and muffins as well as great conversation to accompany the food.

One of the best things about this accommodation is the hosts, as Alex and Christine really know the area they live in and are able to recommend a wide variety of activities for all sorts of abilities. They know their stuff, which really is integral to having that little 'plus' on top of a bed and breakfast service.

As a group of travel agents, we would not hesitate to recommend this to our clients, to our family, to our friends and to anyone who might be looking for accommodation in Wanaka! In regards to the comment about signage further down the page, Alex advised us that shortly there will be a new sign to help guide guests in, and thus no reason not to visit the fabulous, wonderful, lovely Peak Sport Chalet!

Room Tip: The Studio is connected to the main house, but remains private and has its own deck out front. The T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed in the studio apartment and it was a spotless haven. The kitchenette may be a tad small for two but as I was on my own it was perfect. Alex and Christine are very nice and can provide advice about walks. The studio is right next to the main house but still very private. The only problems I had were that their signage at the street front is hard to spot and driving up I wasn't sure where reception was, fortunately Alex was there to help. Parking is limited but not a real issue. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineSchafer, Owner at Peak Sport Chalet, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay. The Studio has a small kitchenette with microwave, hot plates and fridge and is advertised as this. For a full kitchen we recommend you choose the Chalet next time as it has all you could wish for, incl. dish washer and oven.
We also got a new sign up mid December so our guests find us more easily. It should have been up already at the time you stayed with us, but unfortunately we had unexpected detalys. I posted a photo of it on Trip Advisor, have a look.
Thanks again and we are looking forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first time to New Zealand and our first time at Peak Sport Chalet, which was excelllent. Wanaka is a very nice town to stay in and is much more laid back than the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. We stayed two times in October 2012 in the studio, which was very comfortable and very clean. We had a gap of one night in between the stay because we went down to Milford Sound, and Alex and Christine were very accomodating and let us store some luggage during that time at the B&B. Each night that we arrived back at the B&B, we had some type of homemade goodie, i.e. a cookie or rum bar, waiting in the room for us and Alex and Christine were very pleasant to talk to. We chose to have the breakfast buffet on one morning, and joined Alex and Christine, where we had the choices of muesli, apple muffins, homemade bread, jams, and fruits. Alex and Christine were interested in hearing about our adventures and gave us some tips and info about the next towns that we were visiting. We would definitely recommend to stay at Peak Sport Chalet if your travels take you to Wanaka and we would also recommend a jetboat ride on Wanaka River Journeys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Peak Sport Chalet numerous times now since 2006, mainly each time we go to Wanaka! This happened per coincidence mainly in winter when we go skiing, but we have also made it to Peak Sport Chalet in other seasons! The service is always excellent, with a warm welcome by Alex and Christine, and lovely home baking waiting for us each time. The chalet is perfectly suited for our family of 2 adults and 3 young children, the 2 rooms are lovely and spotless, the bathroom is small but fine and has underfloor heating. The kitchen is very well equipped for self-cooking, much better than most motels we've been to. The kids can go run around the house and in the backyard safely. The only hazard for very young children in the Chalet is the log fire. I'd say the biggest plus point is the hospitality of the owners who really care about your stay and that they keep improving it, at every visit we see changes in the Chalet for the best! I remember one visit I thought (or did I say it loud?) "it would be nice to have a step stool for the kids to be able to wash their hands." and the next time it was there! :-) If I had to find a down side to this accommodation, it's probably that the Chalet has no view on the lake, as it is tucked at the back of the property, but we don't really mind as we usually just go back to the Chalet when it's evening time and dark in winter, we're happy to be tucked in our warm cozy place!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the 2 bedroom self-contained chalet, twice with another family when we only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Highly recommended. Very welcoming hosts. The room was spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the deck with a beer after a hard days skiing.They were very helpful with recommendations for walks and activities. Thanks again Alex and Christine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peak Sport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Sport Chalet

Address: 36 Hunter Crescent, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Sport Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our certified environmentally friendly accommodation. Stay in our Studio/double with kitchenette (NZD 140 for 2)or self-contained Chalet (NZD 160 for 2 or NZD 225 for 5). Sliding doors open onto private sundecks with great mountain views. Awake refreshed after a relaxing night's sleep on our prime quality mattresses and duvets. The luxury Chalet can be converted in either a 1-/ or 2-bedroom Chalet, sleeping up to 6 guests, with full kitchen and a log fire to round up the special alpine experience for you. Breakfast-buffet optional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Peak Sport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Sport Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.