We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Place to Stay - Clean, Friendly and Kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka to your Saves list
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Three night special
Ranked #11 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Super Place to Stay - Clean, Friendly and Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Wanaka is a really cool town. We enjoyed staying there - I describe it as Queenstown's little brother. Paul and Barbara were so nice and inviting. There house is very clean and the walk to town is maybe 5 minutes. I would recommend this play to anyone.

Room Tip: One room has bath within -other room has bath across the hall - both are great just depends on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
56
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Good, comfortable place to explore the town and surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We are somewhat budget-conscious travelers. An accommodation for us is just a place to get a nice warm shower and a comfortable place to sleep. We don’t need a lot of space, either, as each of us only has a carry-on backpack & a personal bag. Because of this reasoning, we believe that a budget of less than $100/night is reasonable.

It was so hard to find an accommodation for under NZD 100/night in Wanaka. We only learned about Montrose B&B, owned & run by Barb & Phil Wilson, from a Wanaka tourism website, which listed the full contact information for the B&B, including its own website. Based on the information on Montrose B&B’s website, & our correspondence with the very helpful & responsive Barb, we decided to book a queen room for us.

It was so easy to locate the house as it looked exactly like the picture posted on the website. Barb greeted us & told us where to park our little car. Our queen looked & smelled clean & cozy; our bed was heated, too! The shared toilet & bathroom were located right next to our room. Fresh clean towels & soaps were provided. They were very modern-looking, spacious, clean & tidy. Some extra amenities that we appreciated:

- Free access to a freezer & fridge, microwave, dinnerware, & sink (in the garage).
- Free access to washer, clothes line, & dryer (in the garage). Unlike Americans, people in New Zealand (& Europe, & Asia, too) seem to be more conscious about conserving energy. So, one of the things that Barb asked when we had to do a load of laundry was that we first hung our wet clothes on the clothes line to dry, then stick them in the dryer just for finishing touch to make sure they were all dry & not wrinkled. Wanaka weather is so dry that this method worked wonderfully for us (most our clothes were made from nylon/polyester/thin cotton), even when we actually hung our clothes in the evening, & collected them the following morning. It only took about 15 minutes in the dryer before they went back inside our bags!
- Free wireless internet (but bring your own laptop/netbook).
- Free Wanaka map & info, including any local insights about New Zealand in general or Wanaka specifically from Barb & Phil. Just ask!
- And of course, the price includes home-prepared breakfast each morning! A great energy booster if you plan to do some hiking in Wanaka (we did the Roy Peaks/Mount Roy track, a 6-hour round-trip steep hike).
- Distances from the house to:
o Puzzling World = 2.4 km = 1.5 miles
o Pembroke Park & most restaurants = 2.5 km = 1.55 miles
o New World supermarket & a lot of restaurants = 2.2 km = 1.37 miles
o Mt. Iron track = 500 m = 0.3 mile
Try walking to all these places: nothing is too far to walk in the small town of Wanaka! If you’d rather drive to places, you can park just about anywhere for free, unlike in Queenstown.

We stayed at all types of places when we visited the South Island in New Zealand for 9-10 days: farmstay, hostel, backpacker lodge, B&B (bed & breakfast), self-contained unit, hotel, & holiday park. By far, Montrose B&B in Wanaka was our favorite. Barb & Phil sincerely wanted us to have a great experience in New Zealand: they helped give us track & driving route information, & even checked the weather forecast for us.

While we could not think of anything that any traveler should be concerned about if selecting Montrose B&B, we managed to come up with a short list that a traveler may want to think about & consider:

- Make sure you understand that you will share the toilet & bathroom with others (if there are other guests). The toilet & bathroom are very modern, clean, tidy, & spacious. Just take everything you need to the bathroom: toiletries, towel, change of clothes, etc. Fresh towel & soap are provided, but bring your own shampoo.
- We mostly stayed in our bedroom to enjoy our food during the day or in the evening (except for breakfast), & it didn’t bother us. Not sure if there is any other area where one can enjoy a meal (perhaps in the garage?).
- As we’ve mentioned above, if you find yourself in need to do a load of laundry during your stay at Montrose B&B, please follow the easy, short laundry instruction & respect Barb’s & Phil’s need/desire to conserve energy in return. Don’t worry if you don’t know how to hang your clothes; Barb will show you where & how to do it (just ask).
- Barb & Phil owned a dog when we stayed there. We are dog/animal lovers, so it was actually fun for us to be able to pet/play a bit with the dog. Barb & Phil did a great job of keeping the house & the dog clean, too, so no worries in that aspect. The dog stayed with them in the main living quarter most of the time anyway. However, if you are allergic to, afraid of, or don’t like dogs, perhaps you need to consider other accommodation options.

If we ever go back to Wanaka, we will absolutely consider staying at Montrose B&B again. We recommend this B&B to any traveler who appreciates a comfortable accommodation & local hospitality at a competitive price, & does not mind sharing super clean & modern toilet & bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Montrose B&B is not walking distance to the many things to do in Wanaka, but only a short drive and has walking trails nearby. We enjoyed our stay but had not payed close enough attention to the details when booking to realize the bathroom is shared and not en suite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaWanaka, Owner at Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
In August this year, 2011, we had an ensuite built which is attached to one of our bed and breakfast rooms. It is also possible to now book a further room with private bathroom. Provided with this option are two freshly laundered dressing gowns for our guests comfort.

Our spacious guest bathroom has both a shower and separate bath. Both bathrooms are now equipped with guest hairdryers, shampoos, shower jells and soaps. They have heated tiled floors between the months of May and September. Guests are welcome to use the heated towel rails. Our bedrooms have television, heaters, electric blankets and 100% cotton linen.

Google maps calculate 900 metres to McGregors our closest restaurant and a10 minutes walk; 1500 metres to the Post Office (centre of town) a 17 minutes walk; 1300 metres to Paradiso Cinema and 2300 metres to Puzzling World which is out of town in the other direction. The walking track cuts time to town down slightly but it is not factored into google maps.

Our breakfast times are fully flexible provided you are not checking out on the day. No extra charges for our fully cooked breakfast or continental. Fast internet access on our wifi or guest computer.

Note that we currently do not include a surcharge on one night stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We were heading into Wanaka without any accom arrangements. Found the Montrose online and booked by phone through Barbara.

Turned out to be one of those hidden gems. The rates are very reasonable and we were upgraded to the large room as it was the off peak period.

Clean, comfortable, modern... that sums up the rooms in this BnB. That and the friendly hosts made our stay in Wanaka all the more warm and personal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka

Address: 120 Mount Iron Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous mountain views from our modern bed and breakfast. Situated in a quiet residential area but only 17 minutes walk (1500 metres) to town. Elevated to enjoy lovely mountain views all around from the dining area. A delicious English cooked breakfast is offered along with continental, vegetarian and gluten free options. Good fast broadband wireless internet is included. Lovely modern bathrooms with undertile bathroom heating in winter, heated towel rails, shampoos and hairdryer and continuous hot water. Bedrooms with wall mounted televisions, self controlled heating, shelving, clothes hanging space and electric under blankets. Queen room with private en-suite bathroom and a room with 2 beds (queen and single)with a large private bathroom opposite. A further room is available only by request. Friendly kiwi hosts Phil and Barbara make guests very welcome in the living area at any time and offer complimentary drinks on arrival and / or during the evening. You will fall in love with Mika, our very friendly, placid Samoyed dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.