We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Lakehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Lakehouse
Save
You added Wanaka Lakehouse to your Saves list
27 Penrith Park Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have just recently spent 4 days at this luxurious and amazing Wanaka lake house to celebrate my wifes 40th birthday. The pictures as advertised provide a completely accurate account of the accomodation and I can personally guarantee that if you are looking for a fantastic time away you will not be disappointed. A warm and special thanks goes out to Michael who took care of our every need from showing us around some fabulous wineries and attractions in the region to organising a hair dresser to the house!! Michael along with his wonderful assistant Erin were always happy to go the extra mile to accomodate our large group which consisted of teenagers, their parents and grandparents who all thoroughly enjoyed themselves and would return in a heartbeat. The attention to detail is faultless and there are activities for everyone to enjoy, from playing pool/darts/table tennis to swimming in the heated pool, taking a sauna or spa or simply quietly reading a book away from the crowd in one of the many area's in the house. My wife and I have travelled extensively and would rate this accomodation as one of the best. This accomodation is completely versatile and could be enjoyed for anything from Honeymoons to birthday parties or just a romantic time away. This place is a must to put on your holiday destinations list.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here when we got engaged. It was amazing, we had a quick tour of the house and then had the option to choose 1 of the 2 bedrooms downstairs which was hard because they were both amazing, there were others staying here upstairs but did not see them at all, it felt like we had the whole house to ourselves. The owners was on hand when ever we needed anything but other than that they left us to it.
We even sneaked in a quick spa the morning we were leaving, soaking in the view before heading home!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

my partner and I loved our stay we were there for our honey moon.
When we first arrived we got a tour of the house.
Our room was great and very romantic.
We loved our stay we used the sauna the massage shower and the indoor pool which were also so wonderful.
We walked into Wanaka along the lake front it took about 40min

Room Tip: the view from the decks are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon late March 2011 and absolutely loved it. The house is just incredible - particuarly enjoyed the indoor pool, the wood fire oven and the comfort of the furniture - I don't think I've ever slept so well!
Service provided by Michael and helpers far exceeded our expectations - absolutely amazing.
Can't wait to return for wedding anniversaries!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just came back from an entire week at the Lakehouse. I selected it after cruising some Wanaka related sites. The Lakehouse looked the best. It didnt disappoint.
We underook some form of outdoor recreation each day (no shortage in Wanaka!) but made sure we made it back to the lodge in the afternoon for a few hours on one of the lodge's numerous landings. Olives, cheese and pinot over the lake was something we'll never forget!! A sauna, spa and wood fire made it the best accomodation choice I ever made. Mike took great care of us and pointed us in the right direction for activities and resturants etc. This is the only accomodation I have ever recommended - happy to do it.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves and take the upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is the most beautiful place with a wonderful host. You cannot want for more. Try as I could I could not find anything missing that we just might have needed - and the attention to detail is exceptional. This was our favourite place on our four week tour of the country - and somewhere I can only recommend at the highest level. I desperately ache to return - Lake Wanaka has stolen my heart - and to sit on the terrace overlooking the lake drinking espresso or sipping chilled white wine in the hot tub on a clear starry night is just one of those experiences that will live with you for ever. Visit this place - and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We started our honeymoon here and anything else after this would never compare..I cannot say how amazing this house is and the whole experience..Michael was the best host, my wife and I had a wonderful experience and would recommend Wanaka Lakehouse to anyone..unbelievable!!

Room Tip: Sky Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakehouse

Address: 27 Penrith Park Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront stunning views. Pure luxury & ambiance of a hand crafted timber chalet with an emerald-tiled heated lap pool in the heart of the living area next to spa, sauna, 5 Tonne Tulikivi rock fireplace & pizza oven, full gourmet kitchen, games room, art, antiques, persian rugs & sheepskins all over. Feel immediately at home in this truly beautiful lodge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Lakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.