We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place and what a amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Lakehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wanaka Lakehouse
Save
You added Wanaka Lakehouse to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   27 Penrith Park Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place and what a amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

my partner and I loved our stay we were there for our honey moon.
When we first arrived we got a tour of the house.
Our room was great and very romantic.
We loved our stay we used the sauna the massage shower and the indoor pool which were also so wonderful.
We walked into Wanaka along the lake front it took about 40min

Room Tip: the view from the decks are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon late March 2011 and absolutely loved it. The house is just incredible - particuarly enjoyed the indoor pool, the wood fire oven and the comfort of the furniture - I don't think I've ever slept so well!
Service provided by Michael and helpers far exceeded our expectations - absolutely amazing.
Can't wait to return for wedding anniversaries!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just came back from an entire week at the Lakehouse. I selected it after cruising some Wanaka related sites. The Lakehouse looked the best. It didnt disappoint.
We underook some form of outdoor recreation each day (no shortage in Wanaka!) but made sure we made it back to the lodge in the afternoon for a few hours on one of the lodge's numerous landings. Olives, cheese and pinot over the lake was something we'll never forget!! A sauna, spa and wood fire made it the best accomodation choice I ever made. Mike took great care of us and pointed us in the right direction for activities and resturants etc. This is the only accomodation I have ever recommended - happy to do it.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves and take the upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is the most beautiful place with a wonderful host. You cannot want for more. Try as I could I could not find anything missing that we just might have needed - and the attention to detail is exceptional. This was our favourite place on our four week tour of the country - and somewhere I can only recommend at the highest level. I desperately ache to return - Lake Wanaka has stolen my heart - and to sit on the terrace overlooking the lake drinking espresso or sipping chilled white wine in the hot tub on a clear starry night is just one of those experiences that will live with you for ever. Visit this place - and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We started our honeymoon here and anything else after this would never compare..I cannot say how amazing this house is and the whole experience..Michael was the best host, my wife and I had a wonderful experience and would recommend Wanaka Lakehouse to anyone..unbelievable!!

Room Tip: Sky Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

this place is absolutely breathtaking! My husband and I came here for our babymoon and we were blown away by the sheer beauty of the house, our surroundings including the view of the lake and the warmth shown by Michael, the host. We found that this place was great value for moeny and was the best luxurious B&B that we stayed in during our 2 week travels through the South Island. The house just emanates warmth and cosiness and you really feel like pputting your feet up and just soaking it all in. You can tell that a lot of love has gone in to making this place wonderful. It has an indoor pool and sauna and outdoor hot tub that were just perfect touches after a leisurely beautiful stroll by the lake.This place was not only rejuvenating, but really nourished our souls. Thank you Michael for such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the lakehouse for a few nights after our Mt. Roy wedding. This beautiful, handcrafted home is environmentally-friendly, while still being very luxurious. All in all, it provides wonderful, warm comfort and artistic appeal that is beyond unique. Furthermore, the lakefront offers beautiful scenery and great walking opportunities. The host, Michael, was incredibly personable and helpful in making our stay the best possible. We would go back to the lakehouse again in a heart beat, and plan to in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Lakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Lakehouse

Address: 27 Penrith Park Drive, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Lakehouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront stunning views. Pure luxury & ambiance of a hand crafted timber chalet with an emerald-tiled heated lap pool in the heart of the living area next to spa, sauna, 5 Tonne Tulikivi rock fireplace & pizza oven, full gourmet kitchen, games room, art, antiques, persian rugs & sheepskins all over. Feel immediately at home in this truly beautiful lodge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Lakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.