We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought back so many memories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Transport and Toy Museum

National Transport and Toy Museum
851-905 Wanaka Luggate Hwy Luggate, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
64-3-443-8765
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 20 attractions in Wanaka
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction Details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brought back so many memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved this place! When you walk in all the old school toys in the cases brought back so many childhood memories about Barbies and Sylvanian Families and Lego, and all before you've paid and gone into the museum itself! My partner loved all the old school cars and planes and things, I loved the toy displays and especially the furry VW which I remember being in Sally Cant Skate in the late 90s down Riccarton Road in Christchurch. The collections of various old things like McDonalds toys and Meccano and bowsers and televisions and telephones etc. kept us entertained for a good few hours. My favourite part by far was the vintage peddle car which once I spotted, I ran off while my partner checked out the paddock of tractors behind one of the hangars and cruised by and picked him up in it. Wish we got a few more photos in it but I posted one on Instagram anyway. Will definitely be bringing my future children here one day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    52
    18
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow - I remember when .... !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A trip to the National Transport and Toy Museum was recomended to us by our Wanaka hosts and I'm so pleased we took their advice and visited this 'Aladdin's Cave', which is filled to the brim with toys that invoke the pleasures of long forgotten childhood play. There are also hundreds of cars, trucks, motorbikes, planes, fire engines, tools and other treasures and bits and pieces (e.g. a motorised wheelbarrow !?!), so everyone will find something that they can relate to. You can't help but feel the stir of memories of hours spent dressing Barbie or playing with action figures or Meccano. From toddlers to seniors - there's something here for everyone. The little cafe had only recently opened when we visited, and more renovations were underway. It was nice to be able to have a break and a sit down cuppa to break up the hours we spent, exploring and investigating the contents of the unabashed chaos in some parts of the museum, or getting some leg exercise in one of the fabulous outdoor pedal cars. This is a family friendly place, so don't hesitate to take the kids, but go early and allow yourself plenty of time - the discoveries and the memories just keep on coming!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must for Auto and Toy people,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

im sure all will enjoy.
can get round in a wheelchair with some problems
in and out of the bigs hangers, but worth it
plenty of interesting things to browse

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

You will be stumped by their collection of transport vehicles. Its an unimaginable museum. If you want to see each thing in this museum, a day will not suffice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place - an absolute gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is one of the best museums I have ever visited and, at 62, that's a lot of museums. The collections and sheer volume of items in this place had my wife and I speechless and very excited. This is a must see for young and old.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Transport and Toy Museum also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to National Transport and Toy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Transport and Toy Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Transport and Toy Museum to your Saves list