We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the butter chicken and garlic naan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
43 Helwick Street | Next to Wanaka Pharmacy, Wanaka, New Zealand
03-443 1133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Loved the butter chicken and garlic naan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I love Indian food and I absolutely loved my meals at the Spice Room. I read some mixed reviews that said sth about the slow service so I made sure that I came before the dinner peak hour. Service was great and I didn't wait long for the meals to come. It's really hard to choose what to have from the menu cos all of them looked so delicious and as I was traveling alone, I didn't want to order too much.

In the end, I settled for butter chicken and garlic naan with basmati rice. Couldn't go pass butter chicken :-) they tasted absolutely tasty!
Ambience and decor are also very nice. Do come here for dinner while in Wanaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    112
    34
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good curry, frustrating service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The service was strange. On the one hand, it was highly attentive, with the manager telling us about the specials, and checking that we were enjoying our food. On the other hand, they were VERY slow to take our order and being us the bill. The manager seemed to be taking takeaway orders most of the time which was a bit annoying, particularly as it seemed that no other member of staff was allowed to take orders. In short, highly attentive, highly ineffective.

The curries themselves were tasty. If you like curries which are spicy we recommend asking when you order- we did this and we found them to still be medium. The decor is pleasant and it was good to see dishes which were a little experimental like venison curry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Owner at The Spice Room, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Zoe23

Thanks for the review. On one hand I'm pleased that you enjoyed your dinner, the service and the ambiance. But that somehow only translated into a three star rating.
We have designated serving staff doing certain things, and if you visited between peak dinner time( Which is when everybody gets hungry at the same time-630-730 pm). Things slow down just a wee bit. Take away is a very integral part of our business and can not be overlooked and there is no way to tell that how many times the phone will ring, we have done everything in our power to keep these two separate and have no influence on each other.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Cheers
Meetu Sakani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian in the South Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sensational food. Fresh ingredients, succulent juicy meat and very well balanced flavours. Must try the cumin lassi! It's da bomb!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Owner at The Spice Room, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi DZ

Thanks for the kind review.

Cheers
Meetu Saklani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sagwala but not as I know it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was average. Nice looking restaurant with friendly if slow service but the food was pretty disappointing. My sagwala looked like green soup. Literally. Cream of spinach soup but not as tasty. Hubby's butter chicken was ok but very rich. I would not be in a hurry to go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Owner at The Spice Room, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi There

I cant say much here, except that I'm dissapointed that the Saag was not upto your standard.
We could have done something about it if it was brought to our attention when we checked on your meals.

Cheers
Meetu Saklani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food - but menu needs a rewrite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Tasty curries, super friendly staff but 3 things we ordered off the menu were not as received.1) the menu says "The below curries include rice". This is in fact not true. You must pay an additional 90c; & no the curry cost of $20:90 does not include the 90c. 2) we ordered something off the menu that said "Mango chutney/pickle", it was not a pickle so we asked if we could then change it to the "Lime pickle". We received the lime pickle which also had mango & some other pickled vege. This pickle was divine! But lime pickle it was not. 3) we ordered something called Kuchumber, the menu said it was cucumber, tomato, onion & coriander - yum! But this is not what we received. Ours had lots of carrot and absolutely no coriander - disappointing :-( In saying this, we would return to the restaurant being wiser in our choices :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Owner at The Spice Room, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Mands_22NZ

Thanks for the review and also pointing things out on the menu that we take for granted.
We have taken your Chutney/pickle issue and have addressed it. The mixed pickle is a blend of lime, mango and carrot. Maybe you received more vege in your serving, which we will be more careful about in future.
Rice is complimentary for takeaway curries, but 90c with Ala-Carte, apologies if this confused you.
A kachumber is a fresh Indian salad and we use most of the fresh vegetables of the season and is finished with lime and coriander dressing, i understand it may sound confusing and I'm making measures to rectify that.
Hope to see you again.

Cheers
Meetu Saklani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.