We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
43 Helwick Street | Next to Wanaka Pharmacy, Wanaka, New Zealand
03-443 1133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

One of the best Indian meals we have ever had. The night's special of venison was excellent, but it was the prawn malabari that was the star of the night. Perfectly cooked, bursting with flavour, and the touch of lemon just added the final perfect touch. Not a BYO but the house wine was more than adequate. The service couldn't be faulted. Best book - the restaurant is very very popular and with good reason. I only wish we had a Spice Room closer to home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    112
    34
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Awesome food , great service , friendly staff , fast service , cold beer , I would diffinately eat there again

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall this was a pleasant experience.

Food was not as hot as I expected, and most people in my group found this. However, it was very tasty.

The service was polite and friendly.

The downside of this experience for me was that my dinner arrived about 10minutes after the rest of my table was served.

We were all charged for rice which was a first for me at this kind of establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We absolutely loved our meal here. My hubby got the Special Butter Chicken as he is a big butter chicken fan. He said without a doubt this is the best one he has ever eaten. I got the Garlic Chicken Tikka. It was tender, moist and full of flavour. The service was very good, the staff friendly, and it was a cosy atmosphere. Definitely would recommend this place. The price was good...about $75 including 2 beers, naan, rice and the meals

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Despite good reviews I am afraid I found the Spice Room to be average. We were seated but waited quite a while before we were asked if we wanted any drinks. Waiter visited infrequently and at one point I had to go up to the bar to ask for someone to come over and take drinks orders. Venison main was tasteless and disappointing. My husband liked his biriyani though so that was something...disappointing

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.