We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Goan Curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
43 Helwick Street | Next to Wanaka Pharmacy, Wanaka, New Zealand
03-443 1133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 59 restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Goan Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I went here on our date night while in Wanaka.
I had the Goan seafood curry (yes, a strange choice in a mountainous region) which was just stunning.
However, my poppadums had been pre-made and were stale.
My husband's goat curry was beautiful and he loved his onion kulcha.
They were prompt and friendly while being relaxed; and very good with making sure we had enough beers. The place accommodated different groups and types very well. I would definitely return here again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    185
    82
    27
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mudgee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here , the menu dishes a little different to your usual indian restaurant which was nice. Also had specials available for a variety of different flavours.The service was good , with both the waiters polite, knowledgable of the food available .
Service was quick but not rushed. The owner was busy making sure everything was ok and ensuring the dinner experience was enjoyedwould recommend this restaurant for dinner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great decor, lovely staff, bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Probably the worst thing that an Indian meal can be is flavourless and that is what this was.

I had the Madras and there was no spiceyness at all.

I know Indian food in NZ is not that hot, but that doesn't mean no spice.

The surroundings were lovely, and the service was warm and attentive, but really the Spice Room is let down by its lack of spice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently ate at The Spice Room and found the staff lovely and the decor appealing. Unfortunately, our table was next to the kitchen entrance, so we were blasted with noise and cold air each time the kitchen door opened which was often as they were so busy. We also had to wait quite a long time for our meals. The food was nice but not the best Indian food we ate whilst in Wanaka (Sagun has better tasting food but not the type of place to go if you are after a restaurant dining experience). Overall, our night at The Spice Room was pleasant but I felt our experience didn't live up to the reviews that we'd read.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian for a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Say no more... Authentic... Real tandoor... Very good... A1. Highly recommended. Friday night special a very good deal. Go there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.