We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian for a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice Room

The Spice Room
43 Helwick Street | Next to Wanaka Pharmacy, Wanaka, New Zealand
03-443 1133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Spice Room is an exciting new Indian Restaurant and Lounge, with a fresh and healthy take on authentic Indian flavours. Warm up next to the big fire in the lounge with eclectic Indian snacks, salads and curries. Or relax and dine in with our affordable wine and cocktail list. The menu has been designed keeping in mind the authentic favors of India along with the diversity of various dishes, there is a lot of emphasis given on home style Indian cooking which is uncomplicated, yet brings out the favors for which Indian cuisine is so popular.With over 25 years of collective experience in the kitchen, you can be rest assured that you are going to be treated to the finest that Indian cuisine has to offer.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian for a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Say no more... Authentic... Real tandoor... Very good... A1. Highly recommended. Friday night special a very good deal. Go there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    112
    34
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Enjoyed our meal here a lot. Arrived off the street late on Friday night but they couldn't be more friendly. Excellent food, tasty and fast with good portions. Warm restaurant after a day on the ski field. Gave us a takeaway bag as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
1 review
“Excellent service and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Spice Room is the best restaurant in Wanaka. The food is superb, even for those with dietary requirements such as vegetarian or dairy free. Ingredients are fresh and I know much is made fresh on site. Fish malabari and goat curry are two to try, as is the sizzling platter.
You can get good food in Wanaka, but often service is variable or consistently poor. I'm not prepared to spend my money on food - even good food- served by someone grumpy, or someone disinterested or someone who treats their customers variably depending on who they are or how "local" they might be. At the Spice Room we have been treated on numerous occasions with the most excellent and friendly service. They are knowledgeable about their food and beverages and do everything they can to make customers comfortable. I recommend booking ahead

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best indian food in the Occident”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was our first dinner in Wanaka and we made the perfect choose for ethnic food.

This is a pretty restarant with open fireplace and confortable decor.

The food was of the highest quality - delicate curries with subtle spices, and tender chicken and fresh vegatables. The service and responsiveness of the staff was impressive.

I asked the secret of their craft and the host said "love and devotion" to food.

This is as good Indian food as you will find in London or SF. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not enough spice for us.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We asked for spicy. Disappointment. Also, the curries tasted like they had been over-reduced or sitting in the stove for too long. Wishing there was at least one good Indian place out of the four in town.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Room also viewed

 

Been to The Spice Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.