We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we didnt want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Avalanche Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
karratha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“we didnt want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our family loved the studio at Trish and Davey's and we felt so comfortable there. it was like going home to Mum's. The kids enjoyed the garden and paddocks beyond and the games to play. Trish's home cooked treats made our day, every day. The view out the studio window is magic that we awoke each morning to after a very comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Avalanche B and B was the perfect start to our NZ holiday and we really didnt want to leave after 10 days. Many thanks Trish and Davey.
Erin and family
Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hi, Avalanche B&B is SO warm and cosy in the most beautiful, awesome spot in NZ!
The hosts are truly welcoming and friendly providing absolutely everything you could need and also made our children feel really welcome and at home. Could stay here forever!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

After driving down from Christchurch that morning, Trish greeted us and showed us our room, and then suggested a walk to stretch our legs. Straight out the door and up the hill and we were greeted with fabulous views of Wanaka and the lake.
Freshly baked cookies and a good selection of teas and coffee helped us settle in before we headed out for dinner - check out the Edgewater resort for a fabulous meal. Davey then let me use his shed to prep our snowboards and even greeted us the next morning with snow reports and what to look for in the local weather.
With Treble Cone just up the road, and Cardrona the other side of town, we were on the snow everyday (even when the weather closed in, we were able to head to Queenstown and get on Coronet Peak).
If you need snow gear I recommend 'Base' (with 3 stores in Wanaka).
Avalanche gave us the perfect base for the start to our ski/board NZ holiday; fantastic accommodation with great hosts and a short drive to some fabulous ski resorts (and a short walk to some great places to eat and drink).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Avalanche B&B is a great find! Trish and David are wonderful hosts that go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Trish's home baking was so scrumptious that our teenage boys would race inside at the end of our day's skiing. Thank you Trish - and for the recipes! Thanks to David also for all the ski reports and tips - you were spot on every time.
I also have to mention the wonderful sheets - 5 star hotel quality!
Green Family

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Our family had a perfect stay at Avalanche B&B, Trish & Davey were wonderful hosts.
Our 2 teenage boys both felt very at home there, and loved the home made goodies that Trish provided. We would most certainly recommend others to this accom. our only regret was that we only had 2 nights there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We had a great stay with the Pattison's - what a terrific place! We're traveling with our two year old, and Trish went out of her way to make our stay extra kid friendly (basket of toys, special kid cookies, and a pile of great kid books). The accomodation is spotless, modern, comfortable, and well thought out. It's like having a small private apartment, except better, because Trish stocks the fridge and spoils you with her baking! We will definitely stay again if travels bring us back to Wanaka.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

A big mistake! We should have stayed here longer than one night. This B&B was our joint favourite place to stay during our month in NZ. (The other one was Nikau Palms in Wellington by the way.) Very good value at $150 per night. Wanaka is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of NZ.

Avalanche B&B is absolutely perfect. Everything very tastefully done. Spacious and attractive accommodation, well-equipped kitchen area, spotlessly clean, lots of nice little touches (like the vase of freshly picked sweet peas on the table), wide screen TV, nice pictures, books/leaflets about NZ etc. Sitting area to relax in.

The generous and delicious breakfast supplies were provided the night before so we could have breakfast when we wished in our room without the bother of having to get dressed and socialise which is something you're not always in the mood for every day! There was a huge choice of teas, fresh coffee, loads of different good quality preserves, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, juice, bread etc. Everything you could possibly need.

Bathroom/shower room was just as nice as the main room - generous supply of toiletries and good quality towels.

Pretty garden with amazing views of the mountains in the distance.

Trish and David have created the perfect B&B and seemed a genuinely nice couple who are enjoying providing top quality accommodation for their guests. We enjoyed meeting them. Also Trish's suggestion of a meal at the nearby Edgewater Resort restaurant was excellent.

Unfortunately my husband broke his leg half an hour after we left Wanaka so this changed the rest of our holiday somewhat! The upside is that we will have to come back to NZ and do the second half of our holiday again properly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.