We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous home and hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 51 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous home and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous! Spacious and tastefully furnished, with all the comforts of home, plus warm and wonderful hosts who welcome you like old friends. Trish's homemade preserves and baked goodies are to die for. And her restaurant recommendations are spot on. Davy is a wealth of information on Wanaka and his Trike tours are a must - taking In some of the best sights accompanied by a highly entertaining running commentary. Stay there and be enchanted.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Manager at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for both your reviews, the B & B and the trike tour with Adventure Wanaka. It was such a pleasure to have you both to stay here and to know that you enjoyed your Wanaka experience so much.
I always enjoy complimentary feedback on my home baking and preserves. Makes it all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we saw the studio at Avalanche Bed & Breakfast we know we will love it. There is nothing that you would miss. Our hosts Trish and Davy could not be nicer. Both like to have guest – and you can feel at every minute. This B&B was one of our most beautiful accommodations on our journey around the South Island. We like to use the BBQ and had dinner with a view over the garden and the mountains. Thanks Trish and Davy for everything again. One of our best experiences was the Wanaka Lake Cruise with Davy. If you stay in Wanaka do this! We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuxi, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed only one night, but the experience is really woundful and pleasant, thouht this B & B is thousand miles away from our country, we feel like at home. Cozy and friendly, Trish and David made us as comfort as they can, the purely homemade breakfast is health and delicious, it is a amazing memory for all of us. David had also guided us to make BBQ, we will definately remember this fantastic stay and hospitable host.
Jimmy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that guests feel at home when they are so far from their own home. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world.
I'm glad you enjoyed the view and breakfast supplies and also learning to use a BBQ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thank you Trish and Davy for a wonderful stay. Everything is beautifully appointed, kitchen well equipped, beds very warm and comfortable. The garden and view to the glacier are idyllic.

The home baking and breakfast was first class, and our every need was met with a smile.

The girls all loved Poppy, and are still talking about her, and the toy selection was also a highlight.

Trish and Davy are also extremely knowledgeable about the area and provided excellent recommendations about sites and attractions.

Hopefully we will return for a ski holiday in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We enjoyed meeting you and your family and Poppy is missing all the attention the children gave her during your stay.
I hope we see you back here for that skiing holiday in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 2 nights at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, which was really cosy and like staying in friends' house. Trish made us feel welcome from the outset with breakfast and some delicious goodies, including home-baked muffins and heart-shaped chocolates in celebration of our honeymoon. We were given some useful advice of what to visit in Wanaka. The setting of the B&B and its beautiful garden on the edge of the countryside was idyllic and allowed us stunning views of the glacier up the valley. We particularly enjoyed the lift that Dave gave us on his bike to the restaurant at a local hotel! On our final morning we entertained Poppy in the garden and it was a real wrench to finally depart for the next stage of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We like to look after all our guests at Avalanche B & B but like to make a honeymoon holiday extra special. Thank you for all your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This B and B is stunning and excellent value.

Trish and Davy are fantastic hosts and warmly welcome you to their home and garden. Our room, on the ground floor with doors out to a perfectly tended garden ( and croquet set up for your use) was huge and beautifully done out. Facilities faultless.

It's as much a perfect place to self cater as a 'normal' B and B and delicious breakfast stuff appears magically in your room

Trish and Davy a mine of information about the area , what to do and where to go, including a great tip on where to swim in the lake.

Only disappointment was that our stay wasn't long enough. We'll rectify that next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights over the 2013 Easter break. What a wonderful host!
This is the home you stay in when you're not staying at home.Warm, comfortable, beautiful garden, great views and amazing muffins! Everything for a relaxing holiday has been thought of and catered for.As a bonus, it's top value. Thanks Trish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 km from the centre of town, 8 minutes walk to the lake and two restaurants, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avalanche Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list