We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 51 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Birmingham, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We only stayed here one night but were made most welcome. Trish has thought of everything to make the stay lovely. Home made baking, use of barbecue, washing facilities. In fact we came back in the afternoon to find Trish hanging our washing on the line!
We stayed at lots of places but I can only think of one other as good as Avalanche. Top marks. We would stay here again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in the Avalanche B&B. The self-contained cottage, located at the ground floor of the house, is a spacious room with its own bathroom facilities and a small kitchen very good equipped. The room has a spectacular view of the avalanche (if the weather condititons are good ;-) a own perch with barbecue and a lovely garden. Trish is a lovely host, fulfilled all our wishes. The room is a little bit clairaudient, but not tragic at all. In either case it is a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family truly enjoyed the stay at Avalanche B&B. Our hosts, Trish and Davy were very welcoming. Sadly, we only stayed here for 1 night. The place was very clean, very comfortable and very homely. Breakfast was good, all homemade and my children specially loved the cookies and muffins. The view of the garden was spectacular and we enjoyed playing with our new little friend, Poppy the puppy. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit and definitely longer. Anyone traveling to Wanaka, this would be the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: There are two levels here, you have a choice. View from room is spectacular. What you see on the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our stay at Avalanche B&B was unplanned and was one of those purely serendipitous occasions. We arrived at Wanaka late afternoon, on a Saturday, without a booking and it was the annual show! Fortunately the i site was still open but there was no accommodation available under $250. Our attendant remembered that a cancellation had just been received for Avalanche and it was still available and within our budget. Of course we took it and how lucky were we! On returning to our hire car we discovered the steering had locked. With the help of i site and the AA it wasn't long before we were safely ensconced at Avalanche. Davey and Trish were helpful from the first moment. We were tired from a day of travelling with the added drama of the car and were so thrilled and relieved to find such a beautiful welcoming place. We had resolved to stay at a B&B somewhere on our travels but had yet to do it and what more perfect place. It rained all the next day and a new car was being driven over from Queenstown. Davey gave us a guided tour of the town and drove us to our appointed place. We couldn't have asked for more friendly and helpful hosts and felt as though we were special guests not any old weary travellers. The studio room has a beautiful outlook and is large and comfortable - there is nothing to want for. What's more there is free wifi!! This was hard to find elsewhere so was a little extra icing on the cake. Thank youTrish and Davey for your help and being available for our one B&B experience in New Zealand. We were not disappointed! We were sorry not to see more of Wanaka and surrounds but nevertheless our two night stay was memorable and enjoyable. Oh yes, and we loved Poppy the dog. Dianne and Melvin

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed in Wanaka for 3 nights and this was one of the highlights of our 4 week trip to NZ. The Studio room was of a very high standard and very comfortable. The Avalanche is situated in a quiet road about 4 minutes drive the the centre of Wanaka and the accommodation is situated on the ground floor of the property with a covered patio area next the the beautiful lawned garden. A the highlight of the location is the beatiful view from the patio down thew valley to Avalanche in the distance with Roy's Peak towering above you to the left. Our hosts Trish and Davy were very attentive and provided a lovely breakfast in our room each day. Enjoyed their company (and the dog and cat) during our stay helping to make our NZ trip a very memorable one. The new BBQ on the patio was great to have as well.

The area was one of our favourites in NZ with some tremendous views and pleasant walks around the lake or in the mountains. The walk to Diamond Lake and the amazing view points above the lake were a great find and a must do it you don't mind climbing a few hundred steps! Also don't miss a walk from the back of the property which Trish and Davy suggested, through the vineyard to the winery at Rippon. A reasonably priced bottle of wine on the terrace there over looking the lake is a must do on a sunny afternoon!

To be recommended to anyone wanting to stay in this area and would certainly stay here on any return trip to NZ!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This was the best B&B we have stayed in not only in NZ but anywhere! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We stayed for 2 nights (my husband and I and another couple) and wish we had stayed for longer. The facilities were excellent and the selection at breakfast was great (the home made muesli is a highlight!). The complimentary hidden extras added to the great value (e.g. home baking, use of their fresh herbs and salad from the garden, croquet, hammock, bikes and playing with Poppy their cute little Puppy). Trish and Davy were excellent hosts - available when needed but without being in your face! Hopefully when we go back to NZ we will visit Wanaka again and we will go back here for sure. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here with some friends from the UK during a trip around NZ. We were all blown away by the hospitality and discussd many times how there were many little extras added in - e.g home made baking, beautiful home made muesli, fresh herbs from the garden and an amazing selection of hot drinks!

We used their bikes to cyle around the lake, were given excellent tips on where to swim in the lake and used the garden to play croquet. We were made to feel very at home from Trish and Davy - it was an excellent find!

I am expecting a baby and Trish was so kind as to give me a present for the baby when we left! Truly amazing hospitality - thank you both so much!

We loved it so much we will stay there again when we visit Wanaka again this year. The facilities were excellent as well - all very clean, very comfortable bedding - a real find.

Fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 km from the centre of town, 8 minutes walk to the lake and two restaurants, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Avalanche Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list