We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Wanaka to your Saves list
Bella Vista Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Only stayed one night but quite happy with the motel.Staff at check in were very helpfull.
All in all a motel we would return to.Handy for the lake front and shops.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    68
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
121
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Staying at the Bella Vista was what we expected from reading the reviews - simple, small, clean, no frill rooms (we had a Studio) - but is all we needed for our one night in Wanaka. It was a bit hot the day we were in town - so we were a bit worried when we found out there was no air conditioning - but at night, we left the window open a crack and it cooled down the room just fine. The front desk was very helpful on places to eat as well as things for us to do the next day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Paul and Denise are fantastic hosts and could not do enough for us. They run an excellent motel, the rooms are clean and spacious with enough clean towels to go round..and a clean laundry to catch up on some much needed washing!
The motel is in a great position just one road back from the waterside..a great place to relax and take in Wanaka. Paul and Denise are friendly and enthusiastic. They gave us excellent advice about local attractions and walks. On their recommendation we took the plane trip from Wanaka to Milford Sound and back (which they kindly booked for us)...what a day!!
If only we could have stayed longer...but we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Have stayed there over New Years 2 years running. First year was fantastic. This year just gone 3 girls in family unit (aged over 25 years so not rowdy young people). We were advised we must stay 3 night and the rate was $210 per night. We agreed. There was no servicing of the room on 1 January as it was a public holiday. Have never had this before. Was not happy that we had to use towels 2 days. Then on 2 January we returned from a day out and the beds weren't made, dishes still piled in the sink, floor clearly still had crumbs, no new towels hanging and no toilet paper, coffee or tea added.

To make matters worse I went to reception and asked if the room would be serviced. The female owner asked "what my problem was". I advised for $210 we expect a basic service as this is the reason we didn't stay at a backpackers. She then said "do you want me to do your dishes?" I said well yes amoungst other things as I have worked for motels and never would we do this to longer term stays.

She came to the unit washed the dishes left them in the rack with a tea towel over them, put in new tea and coffee and then left. No bed making, no vacumming, no wiping down the sink and shower.

I was not impressed. I will be complaining to the Bella Vista franchise as I believe this is the service they intended. We have since advised numourous tourists to avoid stays there.

In conclusion the service was terrible and as we are not normally complainers it took a lot of us to go and confront management and she was rude and dismissive. DON'T STAY THERE is my advice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This place will please many a traveller. It is in a good location (1 block back for the lake) is clean and modern. Having said that the room we had was small and at $130 for the night (booked through Christchurch iSite) it was probably the poorest value of any of our NZ accommodation. Besides the small room the TV was tiny and would not fetch $20 on EBAY. Upon arrival the owners were not complimentary of iSite and tried to steer us clear of future dealings with them. In addition they were trying to onsell Bella Vista motels for the rest of our journey and asked us to mention their names at a certain restaurant they were recommending. Just trying a little hard I thought. Once again, a nice enough place but about $30 too expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed in Bella Vistas all over New Zeland and they were fantastic. We were able to get the hosts to ring ahead of us to book a room. this meant we knew exactly what to expect - clean room, with all utensils, kettle microwave, fridge and friendly staff. All hosts were so friendly and able to point us in the right direction for food and things to do. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Stayed at beautiful Bella Vista Wanaka for 3 nights in June. It's right in the middle of town, so very easy access to great shopping and fabulous restaurants. Breath taking walks a round the lake and heaps to see and do. The hosts were a really friendly couple, nothing was too much trouble. Cozy and very comfortable rooms. The local retro cinema is a real must - wine, pizza and large couches. We'll definitely stay again on our next trip to NZ!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.