We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Wanaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good value & Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have just travelled both islands of NZ and stayed in six of these properties. Wanaka was our last stay and we were very pleased to be given a free upgrade to a king room with sauna bath. Hosts very helpful and friendly and the location in the heart of the town is great. As with most of the B.V. Wi-fi is not free but vouchers available. Also if you wish to do your laundry, you are limited to between 2 & 7 p.m. at this particular location, as the motel uses the same facilities. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, try to request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    58
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
106
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed two nights at this motel. Reception was efficient and we were soon in our room which was on the small size but extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean! WiFi isn't free at this Bella Vista Hotel unlike the BV in Hokitika, however you can purchase vouchers.
This motel is conveniently located in the heart of Wanaka only a short stroll to cafes, restaurants, shops and the lake. While this is a bonus it can be a detriment too as you may, like us, have your sleep disturbed by noisy revellers returning home late at night. (These were not motel guests and therefore out of the owners control). Price you pay for being right in town.
Overall our stay was a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Best location in Wanaka...friendly helpful staff and good value for money!!!!! When I checked in I was given great advise about Wanaka Attractions and Dining options etc. I was very impressed and after experiencing Bellavista in Wanaka I moved onto Bellavista in Fox Glacier which was very good to!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night on our way to Christchurch from Te Anau. Wanaka is a beautiful little town nestling on the edge of the lake and the views are breathtaking. The hotel is placed perfectly, with everything in very easy walking distance. We were made very welcome when we arrived (early) and showed to our room. I presume all the Bella Vista hotels have the same layout as ours was almost identical to the room we stayed in the night before in the Bella Vista Te Anau. This isn't a criticism - the rooms are spotless, equipped to a high standard and are extremely comfortable.
The wifi didn't work very well and despite having bought extra, "ran out" very quickly. The room had an adjoining door to the next bedroom. Very handy for families or groups etc., but meant there was a bit of noise from the next room - although I'm sure they suffered more from my snoring!
Very good value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Wanaka is lovely and I'd gladly live there!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Bella Vista for 2 nights on route to Queensland. Hosts Denise and Paul could not have been more helpful with their advice on where to go for dining and help us sort out accommodation for our onward trip through South Island. They were wonderful! First class service! Our room was small, but we did arrive late, it was spotless, clean and well equipped! It was right in the town and the sights were amazing! Paul also gave us great directions for good sights and wonderful walks, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Many thanks folks we certainly enjoyed our short stay in Wanaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spent two relaxing days at this hotel in Wanaka. Close to shops, restaurants and bars but still quiet. Our suite was spotlessly clean, well equipped and Paul and his wife were great hosts . Gave us good advice about the area and places to visit which we would not have found without them.
The drive to Wanaka from the north west on the Sr6 has stunning scenery and when you leave Wanaka for Queenstown go via Cardona and visit Arrowtown and stop at Arthur's pass to photograph the impressive gorge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are conveniently located and quiet at night. Parking good too right by your unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The rooms were basic, clean and tidy, modern enough. My partner checked in at reception so I cannot comment on the service. The location is good, a close walk to town and the lake. Had a good sleep here, no noise light etc. Cheap and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.