We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaka Heights Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wanaka Heights Motel to your Saves list
Wanaka Heights Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   57 Hedditch St. 9305, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice room and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good location. Close to town and restaurants. We got a room with good view of moutain and lake. The room was warm the time we arrived. Each bed has electric blanket. The bathroom was ok., strong and enough hot water. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review, we do try to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Beautiful views over our lovely lake and township help to make your stay even better.
Hope to see you all again in Wanaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'd really give it a 4.5, but I'm not allowed to give half stars! My parents, children and I stayed here on our NZ tour and my parents remember it as one of their absolute favorites, even though we only stayed one night. It was easy to find, the apartment was very nice (if a little cramped for five of us, but that wasn't the room's fault), and it's right next to shops, restaurants, and the lake. Reception was very friendly, the grounds were very pretty (it was nice that my kids could run around), and the view was gorgeous!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We try our best to make your stay a pleasant one. Glad the kids enjoyed the space of the lawn to play. Our views are great without the high price tags closer to the lake, and only a few minutes to everything makes us guest friendly!
Thank you for choosing us to stay with.
Warm Regards
Ann
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night during the Christmas season while on our way to Queenstown. The rooms are nicely done and well maintained with a fully featured kitchenette. The units are airy, spacious and well lit; the cosy balcony opens out to well manicured gardens and impressive views of Wanaka Lake and the mountains.
The motel is a mere 5 minutes' walk from town centre and hence easily accessible at all times.
Reception has been warm and helpful especially when there was a hiccup retrieving my reservation from the booking website.

Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you Nandu, Wanaka is a beautiful place to stay and we're glad you chose our property for your family. We do our best to make happy holiday memories for our guests and love to hear your positive feed back. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our hard working staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

At short notice booked and arrived late for the night.
The Receptionist was friendly and welcoming. She had rung me on my cell to make sure I was going to be on time
The room was tidy and warm
The bed was comfortable.
The view out over town was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you Bruce for a positive review. Good to hear you had a good night's sleep, these are the things that are important to us. We try and call our guests if they are going to be checking in after our office closes, then we know you're safe and on your way.
Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week and loved it. It wasn't pricey at all and contained everything we needed including full kitchenette and appliances, cosy beds and a tv...we stayed in room 5 which was up top and we had an amazing view over the town of Wanaka and it's amazing surrounding scenery of mountains and Lake Wanaka...two single beds were located in the bedroom and a Queen in the main room which could be closed off with a sliding door(not soundproof though just in case you wanted some 'quiet' time)...There is a shared dry room accessed by a key located by the entry to the motel so that all the wet stinky ski gear isn't cluttering the room. Wanaka town is a mere 2-5 minute walk...The best restaurants in town are moments away on 'Post Office Lane'. New World Grocery Store is in town for any groceries that are needed. The lady at reception is lovely. The final night we had some noisy neighbours who stayed up til midnight but the rest of the week it was nice and quiet...

Room Tip: The rooms up top have better views. Room 5 is a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your positive review it is lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed staying with us, and that our facilities have all the things you need for a great holiday, including the views.
We also appreciate having great people stay with us, like yourselves, unlike the one's who kept you awake........they were supposed to stay for a week but were evicted the next morning!
Our guests comfort is our priority and we will do our best to make this happen.
Hope to see you all again in the future, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Wanaka and the Wanaka Heights Motel was great. The rooms contained cooking facilities if you wanted to cook for yourselves and they have a great view over the lake.

The ski bus picks you up from just outside the motel so it's super convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. We do our best so our guests have an enjoyable experience whilst in our lovely town of Wanaka. Hope to see you some other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This motel is nice, clean, spacious, and close to the lake. The room was large – a bedroom with two single beds, a bathroom, a full kitchen with table, and a living room with a sofa, a coffee table and a double bed – and it had a lovely back yard area. The motel is up the hill from the lake and the center of town, and it is a lovely view as the sun sets and the lights come on. It is a little bit of a walk up a hill, but totally manageable for anyone without health problems. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a nice motel at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaka Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Heights Motel

Address: 57 Hedditch St. 9305, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanaka Heights Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wanaka Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaka Heights Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.