We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waiorau Homestead to your Saves list
Waiorau Homestead
2127B Cardrona Valley Rd | RD1, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Autumn Specials
Ranked #4 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mermaid Waters, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay was for 3 nights and we wish it was longer ! I wanted a memorable time away with my husband for his 40th birthday ( we left the kids with nan & pop !! ) We saw the photos and thought Waiorau Homestead looked beautiful, but our expectations were defiantly exceeded once we arrived at this special location. The grounds are so beautiful, the views are stunning and the comfortable & stylish decor of the Homestead made us feel very spoilt & taken of. Ann & Blyth are the most lovely people & perfect hostesses. The attention & love they put into every detail is obvious, from the tasty breakfasts, amazing main meals to the & fluffy his & hers robes and slippers in our rooms. We cant wait to visit again and are so happy we found this little slice of heaven. Kind Regards - Sian & Paul Shannon

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, comfortable & spacious. You cant go wrong !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Sian & Paul, Thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind review and more importantly thank you for coming to stay with us. Your generous gift was unbelievable- I think it is the hosts who should be doing that - in any case your thoughtfulness was much appeciated. We very much look forward to meeting all of the family sometime in the future. Kindest regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
140
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Indeed an unforgettable stay that will be rooted in our memories for a long time to come. Everything about the house is beautifully and luxuriously decorated and designed with good taste. The fire place especially was a favourite place, more so when the weather was cold. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are very comfortable and clean. The common bathroom was big and clean with a Jacuzzi but unfortunately, we did not use it. Ann and Blyth make excellent hosts as they have been very hospitable, warm and friendly too. The daily breakfast and tea was very good and had a dinner there for one night cooked by Blyth, who is indeed a very good chef. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Agnes & Friends, thank you for coming to stay at Waiorau - you were a lovely group of friends to host and we hope you come back for a longer stay next time. We hope the rest of your time in New Zealnd was good also and thank you for taking the time to do the review for us. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Resubmission for ID#: 159184814

We are a family of 5 and we stayed for 2 nights at the end of April. It was a lovely place, nicely decorated and cosy with thoughtful items like bottles of drinking water and TVs in our rooms. The bathroom was huge and very luxurious. This was my parent's first time staying at a B&B and though shy initially, they liked the experience, especially the wonderful breakfasts prepared for us both mornings. There was a large variety of food prepared for us early in the morning and we greatly enjoyed the cooked breakfast made to our choices. The quality of the food surpasses many hotels I've stayed at. I will definitely recommend this place for a people who would like to experience B&B. Thanks Ann and Blythe for your hospitality :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi Boon Chen, Thank you for your review and for bringing your extended family to stay. We were glad your parents enjoyed their first B& B expereince and hope you will return one day. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and had a lovely time. From the welcoming decor and fire in the living area to the thoughtful touches in the bathroom - every detail is perfect.

Ann is a wonderful and interesting hostess and Blyth is the Chef extraordinaire with his incredible dinner and breakfast.

An evening of great conversation and fabulous food - there is nothing better. The ambiance of Waiorau Homestead and the surrounding beauty of the the Cardrona area are an outstanding combination.

Thank you Ann & Blyth - a very special birthday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and for coming to stay with us at Waiorau. It was lovely to have you spend your birthday here and good luck with your business venture this year. Kind regards, A & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything about Waiorau Homestead is wonderful! Ann and Blyth are perfect hosts: warm, friendly, good sense of humour, informative, tolerant. Nothing is too much trouble. The house is very tastefully decorated, and each of the bedrooms has lovely furniture and bedding with a very clean, warm en suite.
As we stayed as a family group (all adults) we took up all of the rooms and were able to use the very comfortable lounge/sitting room. The hot spa was welcome each evening, especially after strenuous walks in the area!
Wonderful breakfasts and dinner in on one of our three nights was a credit to our chef Blyth. Vegetarian options not a bother!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Judith and family, thank you so much to all of you for coming to stay with us, you were a great group - lots of fun and certainly lots of laughs! I was only thinking of you yesterday as I walked up to the saddle on the Meg Track myself! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and thank you for your kind remarks. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Driving down the leafy driveway to come upon a beautifully presented stone homestead was just what we were after. Our three night stay was marvellous with a most comfortable room and en suite furnished with beautiful linen, quality touches and our own TV/DVD. Our room looked over the stunning deciduous garden in full autumn colour and we had our own patio. The shared living room was generous in size enough to accommodate all guests with a great collection of music, videos and a large wood burner that kept us toasty. We were treated to a fantastic meal cooked by Blyth on our first night. Breakfasts were amazing from continental choices to fully cooked. Ann and Blyth's hospitality is exceptional, friendly, helpful and easy going. Such a beautiful part of the world you needn't really go anywhere but you will want to explore the property and surrounds and take yourselves off to travel into those mountains that are to die for. Don't look any further Waiorau Homestead has it all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and were able to take some time out to explore our beautiful area here and compare notes about life in the country and hospitality. We hope you will come again sometime soon. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a fabulous week at Waiorau Homestead at the end of the ski season in 2012 and enjoyed it so much we are now arranging a return trip for 2013! The Homestead is beautifully situated facing north to catch the winter sun and right in the heartland of local ski fields. It's about 1 minute out of the gate and straight onto the mountain roads for the Cardrona, Waiorau Snow Farm or Snow Park snow fields. Just a little down the road you have Wanaka & Treble Cone. Our skiing will need to improve but we love the idea that if you're up for adventure you can also book heli-skiing (pick-up is from the front lawn!). The Homestead is luxurious but accessible for either couples or families. Ann & Blyth are so welcoming and went out of their way to make sure everyone had what they needed. They were just fantastic hosts. We took our teenage daughter and she had a wonderful time (even with some study to do)! The spa pool was a particular hit after a day skiing. If you're looking for a wonderfully relaxed holiday, a warm welcome & great food to start your day and to 'come home to' in the evening we couldn't recommend Waiorau Homestead highly enough. Thank you again Ann & Blyth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Nicky, how nice to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. It doesn't seem like any time since last winter but the snow is low on the hills already and we are looking forward to the best winter yet.and to hosting you again soon! Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Rd | RD1, Wanaka 9381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waiorau Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.