We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts in beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaconfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaconfield B&B
Save
You added Beaconfield B&B to your Saves list
251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hosts in beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Having booked through I-Site we did not know what to expect when we arrived and were pleasantly surprised when we drove up the drive to find Mike tending his garden. Carla and Mike proved to be excellent hosts, Mike providing breakfast and Carla doing the baking (her muffins were delicious). Mike was very informative recommending places to visit and walks in the locality. The room was comfortable and spacious as was the bathroom and there was a sitting area outside facing toward the lake and mountains. Beaconfield is set in it's own vineyard and we were honored to be invited one evening to join Mike for a glass or two of his delicious Beaconfield wine.
Our one concern on arrival was that we were some way from the town but this did not prove to be a problem as it proved to be only a short drive and indeed Mike offered to pick us up should we require. I would definitely recommend this accommodation and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
164
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Beaconfield was one of many places we stayed at on our tour of New Zealand, but is the one place that I think of time and again! Warm welcome, friendly hosts, beautiful room with stunning views, huge modern shower room, comfortable bed, own patio, delicious healthy breakfasts, home baking - the list goes on and on! We really enjoyed everything about this beautiful home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The contemporary designed Beaconfield B&B is peacefully situated, nestling in its own vineyard and immaculate garden with stunning views across Lake Wanaka.

Carla and Mike were excellent hosts, recommending good places to eat, interesting places to visit and even made the bookings for us. Breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious - the best home made Muesli of the holiday! They dealt very well with my husband's dietary needs and each day of our stay, Carla made him a gluten free cake - he was most impressed! Our bedroom was large and very comfortable with plenty of storage and everything is to a very high standard.

There are lovely walks direct from Beaconfield along the shores of the lake. The small town of Wanaka is just a short drive or easy walk away and here we found a good range of shops and very good places to eat in the evenings. We can recommend this area to stay for its peace and quiet yet it is only just over an hour away by car to the hustle and bustle of Queenstown.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we highly recommend Beaconfield.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

In addition to the one sentence review above, we would say that Mike and Carla made us extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would heartily recommend a stay at Beaconfield if you are visiting Wanaka, which is itself a delightful place. We stayed four nights and had a great time. Beaconfield has a great view across to the mountains and it's own small vineyard. All in all - brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Beaconfield B&B is a fabulous place and Carla and Mike are wonderful hosts. There are great views from the rooms across the vines to the mountains around Lake Wanaka. Overall decor, towels and bed linen are top quality, and the rooms are extremely spacious. Superb breakfasts are cooked to order by Mike, and are followed by Carla's delicious home baking. It is a <5 minute drive into Wanaka, or a scenic hike around the lake, where you will find a good choice of places to eat. Carla and Mike recommended hiking the Rob Roy track in Mt Aspiring National Park, which was one of the highlights of our NZ trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Carla and Mike's home was the perfect ending to our honeymoon in NZ. Their house is set amongst their own vines, with views across Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains. They have only 2 guest rooms (both with views) which makes for a very personable welcome. Our room and ensuite were tastefully furnished with a comfy bed and an outside terrace.
It was obvious that they love looking after people as there was some fine drizzle cake out for us when we checked in. Then breakfast is a 4-course feast, from a choice of home-made mueslis, different breads, Mike's hot dishes (which change daily) and then Carla's huge repertoire of muffins!
Mike was very helpful with information and seemed to have more maps than the local iSite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Excellent greeting and service from the moment we arrived. We felt welcome and comfortable. There is a lovely view over the Lake and, although it is a five minutes' drive from the Town, it is near a great lakeside walk. The room was superb as was the breakfast. There is a charge of $10 for laundry but it is returned immaculately. Wanaka is our favourite Central Otago town and this is the best place we have found there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaconfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconfield B&B

Address: 251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaconfield B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.