We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaconfield B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beaconfield B&B to your Saves list
Beaconfield B&B
251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Stirling, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

All the good things that we had read about Beaconfield B&B were true! A beautiful house in a beautiful location: very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Mike and Carla are most hospitable and very interesting to chat with. They gave us good advice for dining opportunities in town. Breakfast was comprehensive and fantastic. We were only able to stay for one night (due to our itinerary). Next time, we plan to stay for several nights!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
165
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wonderful hosts, beautiful vineyard sometimes with rabbit coming as guests or host? :) lovely room and bed. Breakfast was excellent, especially the muffin made by Carla. was the best muffin i've ever had.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Carla & Mike hosted us in there Beaconfield B&B as we are family.
they have a beautiful house surrounded with a winery. the room is large and cosey. and the breakfast made by mike is marvelous.
the view from the room is beautiful and you can see the winery. the lake and the snowy mountain.
it was grate vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Carla and Mike were wonderful hosts - very welcoming and accommodating. The room was absolutely beautiful - with a fabulous en-suite and the views....well, just stunning!
The Beaconfield was just a few minutes walk from the lake - and then from there a very pleasant walk into town.
Carla provided us with tea, coffee and cake when we arrived - along with advice on places to eat in the evening and walks to go on. Both mornings, the breakfasts were delicious. Homemade muesli, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade muffins and yummy cooked - accommodating for the fact that I am vegetarian, where my husband most certainly is not!!
It was lovely to share a glass (or two!) of their own wine them, along with good conversation, in the late afternoon.
I highly recommend staying at the Beaconfield.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

As its name suggests, the views from Beaconfield are magnificent, as are the other pleasures we enjoyed during our stay. We even went back for more during our trip around New Zealand.
Mike and Carla are professionals at providing everything that pleasure-seeking travellers could want. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts are delicious and the location is superb. But most of all, their concern to ensure their guests got the most out of their stay in this beautiful area was much appreciated. They know the best places to eat, the best walks, the best activities on offer. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Here, you are surrounded by grape vines, tended by Mike, and you are treated to a tasting of the results. You can even acquire a bottle that is not available in the shops. You are beside the
shimmering blue lake in the quiet outskirts of Wanaka, but close to the action.
Altogether, one of our favorite places to stay in hospitable New Zealand.

Room Tip: Both rooms are superb with luxurious ensuites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family of five stayed at Wanaka for two nights in December. We had just arrived from Queenstown and were enroute to Franz Josef. We had picked Beaconfield as the stay of choice in Wanaka and do not regret it one bit. The house is set on a large plot of land with wonderful views of the ranges. The house itself is a striking piece of beauty - the hosts have built it with lots of precision and love and you can't help but feel like you are at home when there. Mike and Carla are a gem of people - accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. My husband and I enjoyed our long talks with Mike in the evenings. You can see that Mike and Carla love the B & B thing when you are presented with their lovely breakfast range in the mornings. Mike even went an extra stride to cook us a special breakfast to make us feel more at home - Indian masala potatoes with sunny side up eggs on top! Our three kids loved the stay and declared it as the best accommodation of the whole trip! A must takeaway is the Beaconfield red wine from grapes grown on the plot itself. We bought three bottles and finished it already! Ask Mike to take you for a walk in his garden and be amazed at the variety of food and fruits being grown there. Mike and Carla - thanks for being such lovely hosts and we would not skip a beat to be there again with you. Till we meet again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our stay with Carla and Mike can be summarized with one word: perfect! When we arrived, Carla offered us a cup of coffee and some delicious gluten free orange cake. Mike joined us shortly and we had a nice talk followed by some good advice for walks and dinner. Their house was located close to Wanaka center, yet in a quiet residential area with picturesque views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Our room was spacious and comfortable with every detail in place. The breakfast was superb with Carla's muffins & cake, and Mike's cooked dish. We highly recommend Beaconfield B&B and look forward to staying with Carla and Mike again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaconfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconfield B&B

Address: 251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Beaconfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaconfield B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.